We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A substantial lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant to your Saves list
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP8 1EP, Wales (Formerly the Pantrhiwgoch)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fishguard
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A substantial lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We did not stay only called in en route back home from holiday. A warm welcome from mine host and staff. Clean, efficient and a good choice on offer for lunch time. Recommended. Toilets clean and accessible for all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    75
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
108
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for work purposes and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel the rooms, the service, the friendliness of the staff and above all the superb restaurant and the top quality food served therein! I did not expect this in the "back of beyond"!

Although the room was on the small side (and I had a twin which I personally don’t like) but the bed was very comfortable, the facilities in the room were very good, the en suite was well furnished an supplied with a good choice of toiletries and there was a balcony with a spectacular view over the River Usk to the Black Mountains of the Brecon Beacons National Park beyond. It was so quiet and peaceful!

The restaurant served very high quality food and despite us being a large party we staff very friendly and helpful. There was a good choice of wine to help wash down the wonderful food! There was also an early bird dinner menu which offered really good value. There was also a really nice terrace where you could enjoy the view with a quiet drink. The bar even had real ale on tap! Or if the weather is bad there is a conservator yon the rear offering just as good a view! With the restaurant being in a separate building to hotel there is no noise to disturb you.

To be honest it would be worth staying in this hotel simply for the location, the quietness and the view. Add in a wonderful restaurant with a great menu and you are on to a winner. I almost don’t want to share this hotel with anyone – I thought it was that good! It is simply idyllic (the price is good as well!)

(Apologies for the poor quality pictures - they were taken on a phone camera)

Room Tip: It doesnt seem to matter, all rooms have a balcony and a great view of the Welsh hills and countrysi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

What lovely views from the rooms with the balconies. Although it was pouring with rain and the river was very full. Rooms were small and the bathrooms tiny, but they were clean. The food in the restaurant was lovely and a nice choice of wines. Breakfast was tasty. The price for the room and meal was good, compared to the other Welsh Rarebit choices in the area. We had a voucher which covered this stay. Would I stay again I think so.

Room Tip: One with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We were very disppointed with our stay at this hotel which is unaccountably recommended in the usually very good Welsh Rarebits guide. My first impression was cheap motel, the decor was dated, the rooms were tiny and the bathrooms smaller still. The rooms were obviously 'refurbished' on the cheap, tacky fabrics, flimsy mdf furniture etc but the worst thing was the all pervasive stench of shake and vac or febreeze or something. The rooms, infact the whole hotel smelt of it. Having said that the staff were perfectly nice and the food was probably ok, although the breakfast left a lot to be desired - nice cooked breakfast, but very poor selection of cereals/fruit etc. Very, very disappointing. ~(note to owners - PLEASE do something about the smell, BAN the shake and vac!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Get there early and they have a special cheaper menu which in the past we have found to be fantastic value. The setting and the views are as good as ever but I think they may have compromised on the quality of the early food- the pork was dry; the brisket of beef so grisly it had to go back. [ Well, they did ask...] Chicken was tasty enough but cajun it certainly wasn't.
We'll go back--- perhaps they were just having an 'off' night

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel looked good online, but looks can be deceiving--fortunately, this time they weren't. The rooms are compact but well planned and tastefully done. Soothing colors, soft surfaces, modern furniture. Make sure you ask for a room on the back with a balcony. (I don't know what the other rooms are like.) Although the hotel is on a main road, the back rooms are quiet--except for the sound of the River Usk flowing by. The view of the river the Black Mountains of the Brecon Beacons National Park is really spectacular. The hotel is a separate building from the restaurant, so it doesn't have any restaurant/bar noise. The restaurant is highly thought of locally, award-winning, and they offer a special B&B and dinner combo that is reasonably priced--as well as an "early bird" special. The glassed-in conservatory off the dining room means you can enjoy the scenery even if it is pouring rain outside, which it just might be in Wales. A hidden gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back with a balcony. Our room was on the 2nd floor and the view was fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

stayed here a few years ago, we were quite happy with our stay, but this time, the welcome was bleak, food was poor and we will not be returning......

Room Tip: all rooms are of the same small size
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant

Address: Brecon Road, Abergavenny NP8 1EP, Wales (Formerly the Pantrhiwgoch)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant Abergavenny, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.