We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hosts and Cosy rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Kings Head to your Saves list
The Kings Head
59/60 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hosts and Cosy rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A lovely place to stay while visiting the Market town of Abergavenny,
The rooms are really nice and cosy. Quality of food is high and the cooked breakfast served in the restaurant is great.
You will be sure of a welcome here form the friendly hosts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
23
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely pub in centre of town. After late night out, friendly welcome back! Room clean, nice sheets, fluffy towels, shame bout chintzy old fashioned cover! Just leave it off! No sleep tho as room like a sauna! Tried to turn bathroom rad off but it was sooo boiling! Shame. bed comfy nice pillows! I just dont do heating in bedroom! Breakfast and service excellent! Lovely pub, def recommend. Thanks for friendly stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stay at the Kings Head as often as we can. We live in the East Midlands but will drive to Abergavenny and stay here whenever we can. They even arranged everything for my wife's birthday. Very friendly people everywhere, good food in the 59.
It is a very old building so don't expect a premier modular inn. All the rooms have character, I have in stayed in many of them. Music on a Friday night, makes for a great end to the night.

Room Tip: If you stay on a Friday night, just ask for a room at the back unless you are going to be in the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Found the staff very friendly and relaxed which immediately put me at ease. Service was very efficient and responsive. The twin room was cosy and the age of the building gave it character while having all the modern amenities I would expect. A small negatve was the need to use two remotes (in specified sequence) to operate the TV. Unfortunately I didn't read the instruction first. No big deal. Abgergavenny is a really nice, well preserved, market town and I wasn't there to watch TV. The full english breakfast was great and prepared to my specification. All the staff I came across were courteous and friendly. Would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have seen some of the comments on here and cannot believe they are eating at the same place.
I regularly along with my wife eat at this establishment and can honestly say I have never received a poor meal.
Maybe I'm one of the lucky ones or it may be that the ones that are complaining are over fussy.
My last visit was October 19th, I had fish and chips and my wife recieved Steak and ale pie.
Both meals were cooked to perfection, as they always have been-the staff have always been polite and prompt with their service.
I would always recommend this restaurant to any visitor to Abergavenny.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from the 7th to the 13th Sep. First impressions on walking through the door: 1- Great location right next to the town centre, bus station and train station. 2: Friendly staff.

When I went to the room I found it very odd that the rooms we're all uneven! If you pushed the chair out from the dressing table it would fall over!

Good points from my vistit: location, owners are friendly enough, breakfast was nice and tasted fresh.

Bad points from my visit:
1: You are expected to reuse your towels, I was left a note telling me this on day 2. Which of course I refused to take any notice of. However when the maids came they then reduced my towels from 2 to 1. Then on the 2nd last night I came back to find the wet towel I had used in the morning and put in the shower had been folded up and put back on the rail. This is disgusting reusing towels causes bacterial infections on your skin, also because the towel is damp the bacteria from your skin grows on the towel!!! I complained no apology just given clean ones.
3: The bath mat towel was changed every 3 day's instead of daily.
4: My bed sheets had not been changed since I stayed they're. The reason I know this there was a stain on the quilt cover when I arrived and was still there when I left! I would not be surprised if the sheets weren't even changed for my visit.
5: Woken up at 5am or 6am every morning by banging, slamming of doors, sliding drawers or wardrobe sounds. Told the owner said he would have a word but still
continued.
6: Every evening you had a strong smell of cigarette smoke from people smoking outside.
7: The pillows had Brown yellow stains all over them.
8: Toilet roll was not replaced everyday or second day.
9: Carpets are disgusting they severely need cleaned or renewed!.
10: Since my stay you can see the bathroom has not been disinfected or cleaned.

I didn't expect the Ritz but for spending over £300 for 6 nights stay I did expect a clean bed, bathroom, fresh towels, a good sleep and utilitys stocked up.

I don't normally do reviews but I just felt extremely disappointed and didn't want someone to stay here without knowing the issues I had been faced with.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a birthday treat lunch here today and it was lovely. A good atmosphere, friendly efficient staff and really good food. I had home baked ham egg and chips and husband had the liver bacon and onions with mash. Very good value and a welcome stop while shopping. Highly recommend it to travellers

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head

Address: 59/60 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head Hotel is a 16th C coaching inn situated in the centre of Abergavenny. All rooms have en suite shower rooms, colour television and hostess trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Kings Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Head Hotel Abergavenny
Kings Head Abergavenny
The Kings Head Abergavenny, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.