We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spacious family room, very good breakfast, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Derwen

Plas Derwen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plas Derwen to your Saves list
Plas Derwen
Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent spacious family room, very good breakfast, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We had a free upgrade to a family room off the courtyard. Very spacious with especially attractive decor and furnishings. Very nice bathroom and very comfortable bed. Good choice for breakfast. ( We didn't have a main meal here). One small point: the TV was rather small and high up. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
33
59
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night. The food was good and the room very spacious. Unfortunately there was no window in the room except a very highVelux which was not remote controlled so we had difficulty with the blind. Also the bathroom was grubby and the floor very sticky. I would use this hotel again but would avoid that room

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed here for one night with my 15 year old daughter on our way up to meet people in Snowdonia.
Really comfortable room (although it was a little warm - but that was partly cos of the time of year)
We ate at the hotel in the evening and the meal was lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful - likewise breakfast, freshly made exactly to order.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Didn't stay so can't comment on rooms. Generally pub very clean and tidy, and nicely decorated, however.............................

Mushroom starter at £4.25 - 2 small "stuffed" mushrooms with a bit of greenery to fill the plate!!! Oh, and a very inappropriate chutney.

Garlic king prawns at £4.95 - where was the garlic?

Stuffed pasta main course - pasta served in a bowl with salad, most unusual.

Lamb steaks - still chewing them now!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

What a delightful hotel this is. The room was clean and modern and spacious. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The price of our stay was extremley good value for money. The restaurant menu was varied and reasonably priced and the food delicious.
My husband and I stayed here as we were taking part in a ghost vigil at the Skirrid Mountain Inn which was not finishing until 4.00am. This hotel was perfectly placed (10 minutes up the road) and the staff even offered to put us in the most quiet room.
I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Just a single night stay, arriving late and departing early.

The restaurant offers good value (often locally sourced food) though the portions appear strictly controlled. Staff were friendly though a little timid, except for the cheerful management who were on the scene and welcoming the customers.

The (main building) bedroom was fine (spacious, mostly clean except a dusty telephone) though showing its age in some areas. Windows retain their period shutters, a nice touch.

The TV, though flat screen, only had 3 english language channels plus the welsh language S4C.

I came back for lunch later in the day which wasn't so good (stale roll).

Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We only stayed here for a night but would love to go back. The Plas Derwen is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Abergavenny. The bar and resturant do great evening meals and lunches which seem to be very popular. The accommodation is just behind in the main building and is purpose built - it has been very well done though. The rooms and beds are large, clean and have everything you need. Parking is easy. The breakfast was great and cooked to order and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Liked — Large, clean rooms. Friendly service. Fantastic breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Derwen

Address: Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plas Derwen is a fantastic pub restaurant which offers exceptional food at ordinary prices. Located within easy reach of the A40 and A465 (Heads of the Valleys Road), it was redeveloped to a high standard in April 2007. All our food is cooked to order, using produce from local suppliers, listed on the back of our weekly changing menus, enabling you to have a different dish with every visit. There is also a Specials board and a Fish Specials board for even more variety. This is a warm, welcoming venue with pastel colours and a large see through feature fireplace. The building dates back 600 years and the refurbishment has been sympathetically undertaken to reflect old meeting new. With contemporary furnishing, the traditional slant has been retained with many nooks and crannies around the pub. The Garden Room, Lounge Bar and double Conservatory are separate rooms offering different experiences. Some areas have leather sofas and leather tub chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plas Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Hotel Abergavenny
Plas Derwen Abergavenny, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Derwen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.