We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Review - superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Derwen

Plas Derwen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plas Derwen to your Saves list
Plas Derwen
Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Abergavenny B&B and Inns
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Restaurant Review - superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Ate here on Saturday lunchtime. An excellent meal in the conservatory - very roomy between tables, good ambience and excellent meal for both my wife and I.
Food was good value, plenty on the plate and appeared freshly cooked. Our waitress was very attentive in dealing with my wife's dairy allergy, offering a range of alternative sauces for her fish. Service was efficient and I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    21
    12
    4
See reviews for
33
59
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north west england
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed two nights. Good sized room - although not needed by us, it was very well equipped for a disabled guest. Comfy beds. Clean. Good towels.

Pub breakfasts can often be "iffy" in terms of quality. This was surprisingly good - the "full fry-up" is on offer as well as a couple of other options (e.g. smoked slamon & scrambled eggs). Service is never going to be quick if they're cooking to order but the staff also seemed a bit dilatory in things like taking orders, bringing coffee and toast

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfron
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We travelled to Wales from Scotland for a family funeral it was a long journey and we were made very welcome my brother and his wife were in the hotel and I was in the annexe, the rooms were very nice and comfortable. We had dinner which was tasty and then sat in the reception area and had coffee and drinks. Breakfast was very enjoyable and lots of choice.The staff were very friendly and welcoming which made a sad occasion easier.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The pub was fairly quiet on a Wednesday night at 19:00, and the food we ordered from the set menu came fairly quickly which we ordered from assome items from the main menu were not available. It came pretty quickly and was very nice, we both had herby chicken with new potatoes, it was served in a healty way without skin which meant it was slightly dry and could have benefitted from a pot of gravy - but it is a minor point. I had a lovelly pint of Rev James which I hadn't come across before, very refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed for a single night. The room was very well-equipped and comfortable with Wifi working well. The room was small and almost totally taken up by a double bed. If there had been two of us it would have been too small, but on my own it was fine.

Food was OK but not of the best. As another reviewer said, if you don't expect too much then you will be reasonably satisfied. For example, most of the breakfast had clearly been cooked a long time before so was a bit dried out, but the egg was fine.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed in Plas Derwen for three nights. The room was big and clean, the pub served perfectly fine pub food and in response to an earlier comment the veggie food was good. The breakfasts were good, plenty of it, and there was some decent draught beer and decent wine. What more do you need? What made this a place I would stay in again is the fact that the staff from the manager to the cleaners were very polite and friendly., and the whole place was v clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I ordered the salad which had meat as extra, when it arrived it had a layer of chicken over the top of what otherwise appeared to be a good salad. Explained to the waitress that I had not ordered meat with the meal as I do not eat meat, she took the meal away and after my partner was halfway through his meal, returned with a salad. As I was just about to start eating my meal I noticed small peices of chicken, again I called a waitress over and explained that it was obviously the same meal but with the sliced chicked picked out. The waitress took the meal away and returned with another salad stating that I would not be charged.
Guess what !!! More bits of chicken in my meal !! how insulting, we then explained again to the waitress that as a vegetarian, this was not acceptable and that we would certainly not be returning in future.
Its a sad reflection on the chief that he or she could not produce a simple meat free meal and a lucky escape that I did not eat that awful meal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Derwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Derwen

Address: Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Abergavenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plas Derwen is a fantastic pub restaurant which offers exceptional food at ordinary prices. Located within easy reach of the A40 and A465 (Heads of the Valleys Road), it was redeveloped to a high standard in April 2007. All our food is cooked to order, using produce from local suppliers, listed on the back of our weekly changing menus, enabling you to have a different dish with every visit. There is also a Specials board and a Fish Specials board for even more variety. This is a warm, welcoming venue with pastel colours and a large see through feature fireplace. The building dates back 600 years and the refurbishment has been sympathetically undertaken to reflect old meeting new. With contemporary furnishing, the traditional slant has been retained with many nooks and crannies around the pub. The Garden Room, Lounge Bar and double Conservatory are separate rooms offering different experiences. Some areas have leather sofas and leather tub chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Plas Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Hotel Abergavenny
Plas Derwen Abergavenny, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Derwen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.