We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set lunch excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Walnut Tree Inn

The Walnut Tree Inn
Route B4521 | LLandewi Skirrid, Abergavenny NP7 8AW, Wales
01873 852797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 77 Restaurants in Abergavenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Set lunch excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

A birthday lunch for an old Friend with a very small appetite but the rest of the group all had the set menus and the portions are generous tasty and well presented excellent service and a friendly atmosphere very enjoyable celbration

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    117
    60
    30
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our Number One!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We cannot compare the Walnut Tree with any other restaurant we have visited and consider ourselves blessed to live near enough to be able to go there regularly. We choose to take advantage of the lunch-time Fixed Menu which always offers enough choices and superb quality, without breaking the bank. Every dish is presented simply and exquisitely - piping hot and direct from the kitchen. Local seasonal ingredients delight the palate - seasoning is so well judged that we never feel the need to add or subtract. Service is friendly, unpretentious and efficient with excellent attention to detail. Don't miss out on the coffee and home-made sweet meats - it can't be beaten. We have celebrated informal family birthdays, lunches and anniversaries there and never had a meal in which we were disappointed. Maybe we have been lucky - but I don't think so - it could be that the chef [Shaun Hill] is normally in the Kitchen!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Oh my goodness this is a real find, situated in beautiful welsh countryside the Walnut Tree is everything a dining experience should be about. Informal, innovative , and surprise surprise a chef who is in his own kitchen. The food is superb atmosphere good and staff friendly. I just want to keep going back . Nothing to dislike

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Yum-Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had heard from a colleague that this was "the other" excellent restaurant in Abergavenny so managed to book a mid-week slot for my wife & I. Had a lovely summer evening drive from Cardiff on the A449 and then A40 (and A465 just at the end!) to the restaurant. Space enough on the forecourt for approx. 12 or so cars. We arrived 45 mins early but no problems being seated. Fairly dimly lit, earthy colour scheme inside. Making it nice and cosy feeling. Given a complimentary pre-starter consisting of a breaded fish ball with a kind of mustard sauce. Lovely! Then a starter for me of Sea Bass and chilli(spicy) cauliflower. My wife had Monk fish with tomato chilli/ginger.Both excellent. For mains we had the the Grilled+ southern style chicken/sweet corn fritter and also the Halibut with shrimps and dill. Perfectly cooked and tasty and well presented. We were both "full" after this but I managed to squeeze some vanilla ice cream in at the end, also very nice! There were plenty of other choices of pudding but that was all I could manage to eat by that stage.
Service excellent. Good to go midweek as weekends busy. Closed on Sundays/Mondays I believe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“NEVER DISAPPOINTED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have been an occasional visitor to this fabulous establishment for many years. Since Shaun Hill took up residence I have always been very happy with the quality of his cuisine and the lovely staff who have served us. Last week I had his set lunch.3-course lunch. There were five of us in the party and the bill including pre-lunch drinks, a good bottle of wine and coffee was £225 with service. Excellent value in my opinion and well worth another visit soon.

I had a lovely starter of seat-trout followed by the most succulent confit of duck-leg with pig cheek. Meltingly tender and utterly yummy. Pudding was Bakewell tart with vanilla ice-cream. pretty unbeatable combination on a warm summer's day! Shaun bakes the most delicious bread too. Always the sign of a good restaurant.

I am sorry to see other reviewers having less than an excellent experience and am somewhat nonplussed because my experiences here have always been delightful, entertaining and culinarily, highly satisfying. I left the meal replete. There is absolutely nothing mean about the portions and this place would always be my first choice over other erstwhile establishments nearby.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Walnut Tree Inn also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Walnut Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walnut Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.