We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we wanted!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Black Boy Inn to your Saves list
Black Boy Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dark wood, beamed ceilings, creaky floor and it could go on and on. If you want authentic this is the place. A little hectic at check in as there was no parking, so hubby had to double park, unload and drive a few blocks away down by the water then find his way back to me guarding the luggage. They are obviously very busy because even with 2 people at reception iy felt they struggled to get complete sentences out to us. Room was up the stairs thru the doors, down the hall, thru another door and down the hall. Yikes!! Kept telling ourselves people did this for hundreds of years, suck it up!!!
Was very warm when we were there so propped open the windows just to find out the gulls thought this was their Q to audition for Xfactor. Chalked it all up to ambiance and wouldn't have changed a thing.Had to follow directions to breaky in the am as it was in a different building but proved to be fast and efficient as we had a train to catch up Mt Snowdonia. If you're looking to see how the travellers did it years ago try it out. It was a highlight for us and so close to everything else in North Wales. PS- great Wifi and one of the best meals we had on our holiday which I will review separate.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for the review.We are exactly as you state a very busy Inn with character the real deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    154
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
89
367
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I decided on a three day trip to North Wales as a last minute treat so there weren't many rooms available to choose from when I booked online. I chose a Junior Suite in the adjoining Black Jack building and was really impressed when I checked in. The bedroom was huge and contained a four poster bed. This seemed appropriate given the age of the building. There was a separate cooking and dining area as well as a large bathroom.

Breakfasts were amazing. A good variety of items were available and you didn't need much for lunch if you chose a cooked breakfast. The only downside for me was having to leave the Black Jack building, walk round to the Black Boy Inn and go through it and across a small courtyard to the breakfast room. That wouldn't be nice in bad weather.

I only had dinner in the restaurant one evening but I was very happy with the quality and quantity of the food. Service couldn't have been better.

Definitely a place I'd recommend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn, and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst this is lovely character property with beautifully decorated and clean rooms I would not return.
On my booking it stated check in of 2pm. We had arranged tickets to an attraction 30 minutes away based on a 2pm check in. When we arrived we were told policy had changed and we could not check in until after 3pm. No apology, no explanation. We checked in at 3pm which left us very short of time.
We couldn't book a table for dinner, we understood the reasons why so ate elsewhere. We returned about 9.30pm, and whilst there were available tables inside we were told we couldn't drink at them as we hadn't eaten there. We were left to sit outside so retired to our rooms early. The were no other available tables in the pub as it is a very popular .
The food at breakfast was lovely, though the service slow and disorganised.
I had booked this accommodation expecting a friendly welcome from a local establishment but was disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Sorry for the misunderstanding as regards check in time , these have been changed for the summer to 3.00pm due to late check out of previous nights customers.A s regards the tables in dining areas we do not use as bar tables later in the evening as they will be laid for breakfast. Again we apologize for any misunderstanding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I took a side trip to Wales while visiting my daughter at school in Dublin last fall. This is a lovel Inn with a nice restaurant and bar right inside. My room was right above the office but that was not a problem. It was quiet and very comfortable. Apparently the Welsh like it hot because both the pub and room were whew... but I was able to turn off the heat and open the window so that wasn't a problem. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The office staff helped me find a tour guide to take me around by car since I was traveling alone. The tour was briliant. The Inn is walking distance to many shops and restaurants including the castle. It's the perfect base for your visit to the area. They also have free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the review ,so glad you enjoyed your time at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice food, home made chips in a wire basket and lovely home made onion rings which were available as a side order. Not the cheapest of meals but well worth it. I had the same rump steak special both nights in a row. Stayed at the travel lodge down the road as this hotel was not available the 2 nights I was there.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review .Both the accommodation and dining areas to get very busy at peak season .Why not visit us at a quieter time of the year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We didn't actually stay here as we were visiting for the day but we did eat here and its one of the best meals I've had in the area. Menu has a good choice and we couldn't decide so just went for the sunday roast, and not what we expected ! I opted for the turkey and the wife had lamb, the turkey slices were a good 10mm thick, the veg was cooked perfectly with great mash a massive roast spud and the biggest 'pig in blanket' I've ever seen, and it was a good plateful, so much I could't finish it, but the n again the pate starter (which was very good) was maybe half to blame, The wifes lamb was 'melt in the mouth' variety and also well impressive. So although I cant comment on the rooms I can highly recommend the food and the draught beers (would be rude not to try them) and would definately eat there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the review , please do come and stay at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We called for a drink and also ate there Lovely place with a great menu. Good food for kids too. It has accomodation too. The beer is great. A very cosy and relaxed atmosphere. Definately come back here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Lovely review thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Boy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.