We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of The Best Inns I've Stayed At” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Black Boy Inn to your Saves list
Black Boy Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of The Best Inns I've Stayed At”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This Inn is great. The staff are extremely friendly. The location is great and is within the old city walls and about 5 minutes from Caernarfon Castle. The rooms are huge with a large bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. The rooms have free WI-FI as well. The food here is excellent. They also have free parking. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for kind review. You have seen that our staff are very good at what they do . They all see the customer as very important and try their hardest to please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    133
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
73
311
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location is wonderful...inside the city walls. The Inn has a dark, charming, medieval charm to it that makes for a very relaxing, romantic, and fun environment. It's a two minute walk to Caernarfon castle - which you could easily spend an entire day exploring. Then you need at least two more days to explore the town.

We visited from Dallas, TX and were there for three nights on an excellent stay for two get the third night free deal. We were originally only planning one night on our way back to Holyhead to catch the ferry to Dublin, but this was a terrific surprise. Even after three nights, it felt like we were cutting our time short.

Another great surprise was that when we started to ask around town for the best place to eat, guess what they said??....the Black Boy Inn!!! And they were right. Not only was the food great, but they had some of the best local ales!! A true treat for an American. Also, if you like whiskey, do NOT pass up the opportunity to try the Penderyn Welsh whiskey (of which you can also buy a bottle for the best price in the gift shop at the castle.

The staff was also terrific. Great conversation, very accommodating. All the locals were terrific. Met a fellow named Paul that we saw in the pub that also happened to work the gate at the castle. Terrific fellow and great fun to chat with. We could go on and on...

The room was wonderful, right upstairs, with the window right in front behind the Welsh flag. The bed was good, a magnificent four poster with all the modern conveniences.

Would highly recommend and hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: Get a room with a four poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review , we do indeed hope you will come back to the heart of welsh speaking wales . I will pass all your comments on to our staff , plus the castle staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed one night in the Black Boy Inn while driving around North Wales. We arrived at 6.30pm to find that the parking area was full despite the token system but we were directed to free parking nearby outside the city walls and just a few minutes walk away - we did get a parking space later when somebody moved - the receptionist admitted that non-guests had probably got in despite the token system. However, this was a minor inconvenience and her friendly, helpful manner more than made up for any small issue. In fact the staff are the heart of this hotel - they are simply the nicest group of people I've come across in a hotel for some time and they contributed significantly to what was a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is very old - it has masses of character - but it is also kept immaculately clean. We loved our room - it had a large flat screen tv with a good range of tv programs, a small but adequate bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities etc.
We ate outside as it was a warm evening - having ordered food at the bar - although there was space in the restaurant and inside the bar had we wanted to sit there. Again, the lady behind the bar was very friendly and helpful. The food was good - not exceptionable - but fine.
The location of the Black Boy is just perfect for visiting Caernarfon. It is within the city walls and literally a couple of minutes walk to the castle and town. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for kind review , we do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A group of eight of us booked a meal here last night, for 6.30pm. It's a nice pub of character, with good beer, but the meal was a bad experience. It took THREE hours [6.30pm to 9.30pm] to serve eight people with a two course meal. At one point the not very pressured waiter said "I've told the chef to hurry up"! The pub was not crowded, especially in the Coach House.

The food, when it eventually came, was of very poor standard. Some of it was badly cooked [the whitebait, the steak and the stroganoff]. Some of it was just poor quality meat [the belly pork]. The chef has a very heavy hand with salt, too! And there were mistakes in the service too, with the wrong meal delivered to one of the party. The reason, according to the waiter, was that "Nobody tells the chef what the 'specials' on the blackboard are - that's the second mistake like this he's made this week"!
All in all, a very disappointing experience - in spite of the good beer. [Which is another point - the Coach House staff will only serve lager...to get beer, customers have leave the meal to go to the main pub. Still, there was plenty of time for this as it all took so long to serve.]

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Your review is being investigated as I reply . We appreciate that the wait for food is longer in summer periods . It is unusual for a complete table with various meal to all be of poor quality .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Highlands NSW
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Black Boy Inn in April 2013. The room we were given was in the new block at the rear of the main hotel. The room was very good, was self contained and accessible which is important for those with disabilities. Our room provided easy access to the main hotel although you could get wet if it was raining as there was no covered walkway joining the 2 buildings but this only adds to the atmosphere. There was onsite car parking available for guests which operated on a token system with the tokens readily available from reception ( a good system to ensure guests had parking). The pub itself was full of atmosphere and the food was great.

Being located within the city walls made access to Caernarfon Castle an the dock area an easy stroll. I can not comment on the quality of the rooms inside the hotel building but ours was warm and very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review and a good description of what we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Unbeknownst when we booked and stayed at this Inn, it turns out to be one of the top 20 pubs in Wales. A well deserved award. The atmosphere is fantastic, the food outstanding and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding. The railway station and bus station are very nearby, and even closer are the sights of Caernarfon, especially the castle. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
The is review is lovely and i wish to thank you.I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and i had a short break over whitsun in North Wales staying in Caernarfon. After hearing about this pub we called in the off chance one evening and were lucky to get a table. The meal was superb ! I tried the Steak and Ale Pie and struggled to finish it as the portion size was HUGE. So if you have the chance, try booking a table and just enjoy ! The staff were very friendly and the ambience amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for review , we are indeed a busy Inn in centre of Caernarfon. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Boy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.