We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service & poor meal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Black Boy Inn to your Saves list
Black Boy Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor service & poor meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

A group of eight of us booked a meal here last night, for 6.30pm. It's a nice pub of character, with good beer, but the meal was a bad experience. It took THREE hours [6.30pm to 9.30pm] to serve eight people with a two course meal. At one point the not very pressured waiter said "I've told the chef to hurry up"! The pub was not crowded, especially in the Coach House.

The food, when it eventually came, was of very poor standard. Some of it was badly cooked [the whitebait, the steak and the stroganoff]. Some of it was just poor quality meat [the belly pork]. The chef has a very heavy hand with salt, too! And there were mistakes in the service too, with the wrong meal delivered to one of the party. The reason, according to the waiter, was that "Nobody tells the chef what the 'specials' on the blackboard are - that's the second mistake like this he's made this week"!
All in all, a very disappointing experience - in spite of the good beer. [Which is another point - the Coach House staff will only serve lager...to get beer, customers have leave the meal to go to the main pub. Still, there was plenty of time for this as it all took so long to serve.]

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Your review is being investigated as I reply . We appreciate that the wait for food is longer in summer periods . It is unusual for a complete table with various meal to all be of poor quality .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    133
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
73
310
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Highlands NSW
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Black Boy Inn in April 2013. The room we were given was in the new block at the rear of the main hotel. The room was very good, was self contained and accessible which is important for those with disabilities. Our room provided easy access to the main hotel although you could get wet if it was raining as there was no covered walkway joining the 2 buildings but this only adds to the atmosphere. There was onsite car parking available for guests which operated on a token system with the tokens readily available from reception ( a good system to ensure guests had parking). The pub itself was full of atmosphere and the food was great.

Being located within the city walls made access to Caernarfon Castle an the dock area an easy stroll. I can not comment on the quality of the rooms inside the hotel building but ours was warm and very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely review and a good description of what we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Unbeknownst when we booked and stayed at this Inn, it turns out to be one of the top 20 pubs in Wales. A well deserved award. The atmosphere is fantastic, the food outstanding and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding. The railway station and bus station are very nearby, and even closer are the sights of Caernarfon, especially the castle. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
The is review is lovely and i wish to thank you.I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and i had a short break over whitsun in North Wales staying in Caernarfon. After hearing about this pub we called in the off chance one evening and were lucky to get a table. The meal was superb ! I tried the Steak and Ale Pie and struggled to finish it as the portion size was HUGE. So if you have the chance, try booking a table and just enjoy ! The staff were very friendly and the ambience amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for review , we are indeed a busy Inn in centre of Caernarfon. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicken
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely old, quaint hotel with very pleasant staff, good accommodation, food and drinks at very reasonable prices.

Very limited restaurant options in Caernarfon in the evening other than the Black Boy though.

Room Tip: The Black Boy four poster room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for review , We at the BlackBoy try our best to please all guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhayader, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

2nd stay in black boy now and will be going back for more. Stayed in exec double this time and was excellent. Room large, bed comfy, desk etc.. All good spec. Free wifi as well a nice and necessary service. Food was great, gammon this time and a lovely portion.. Wrexham lager on tap which is also a lovely drop.
Service at reception friendly, no delay. We needed a quiet spot for a private business conversation and they let us into the coach house which was very kind.. They didn't have to.
Will be back again in a few weeks and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Looking forward to your return , and thank you so much for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Black Boy Inn is perfectly located in central Caernarfon within the city walls. Our room was in Black Jacks, which is behind the main hotel. It was spacious, well appointed and very clean. The bathroom was great - really large shower cubicle and good water pressure. We were on the second floor, which made for peace and quiet, but it was very warm!

As previous reviewers have noted, it is not possible to book a table for dinner later in the evening. We decided to eat in the bar, which was busy and had a good atmosphere. The food was good and portions were generous.

Unfortunately, breakfast was disappointing. I was very excited to see a vegetarian specific version of cooked breakfast on offer, including an aubergine rasher and leek and potato cake. Sadly the reality was a very dry slice of aubergine, while the cake seemed as though it had been kept warm for too long, and was so dry that it was literally inedible. The only opportunity to mention this was when our plates were collected, when I was offered to select something else. Unfortunately, it was too late at this point.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for review of the Inn glad you enjoyed your stay the problem with the breakfast has been noted and passed to kitchens. We hope you will return and see the change in vegetarian breakfast .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Boy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.