We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Black Boy Inn to your Saves list
Black Boy Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely Pub - a favourite with the locals. Drinks are a tad expensive here - but for the atmosphere, it's definitely worth it. The food is hit and miss - and some of the bar meals are deceiving (e.g Burger - but no bun). Would definitely recommend for anyone to visit whilst staying in Caernarfon or the local area.

Room Tip: Seems that booking is essential - Wouldn't recommend eating in the bar on the weekend as it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for review , we are indeed a very busy Inn. There is a good atmosphere here in the bars and dining room . We do operate a higher bar price than rest of the town , but this is done for a reason .Which we feel works as the bars are full of content locals & visitors who chat to each other .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    133
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
73
311
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A very busy, bustling place which is warm and welcoming. The staff are great and are constantly on the go making sure their patrons are being looked after. We had a brilliant room in Black Jacks which even had its own kitchen, big telly and a great shower.

The menu was tremendous and the food exceptional. Breakfast was the best we have had in a long time.

We only had the one night here but didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back for a longer stay in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for review , we are indeed a bustling Inn and i have to thank all the customers and staff for this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place gets busy but its worth the wait.....you can always book but we just walked in.
The food is well priced, local produce well made and cooked and its just brilliant. Really helpful staff...great choice of beers and wines and a good cider !!
Cannot recommend the establishment enough and you can stay as well, bet the breakfast would be good...
So good we went back the next night for more... Lasagne and chix & leek pie with sweet potato chips !!! Yumm

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
i totally agree with your view of the Inn of course , all of us try hard here to make it all work for us and customers.Thank you for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Called in without knowing the place because of the unusual name and interesting architecture. Although there are a number of larger rooms we happily crammed in to the small cosy lounge with it's welcoming fire. The cask bitter was first class and there was an excellent choice of food. I chose the Game Stew from the specials board not cheap but superb. It arrived in a mini-cauldron accompanied by three huge slices of crusty whole meal bread from the bakers across the lane. All the other meals went down very well and the service and the whole experience was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for the review i really like the comment eccentric . I think this suits us an Inn , we suit the majority of people most of the time .Hence our very busy trade . It is quirky and olde fashioned , here customers do talk to one another . Different to a lot of places today , that are large and uniform in character .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I found this gem on the internet and checked out reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed - sometimes places look a lot better on the internet and do not live up to expectations on arrival. We found it to be very busy but very well managed with the staff working very hard to keep everything running smoothly. The bars had lovely warm fires (especially welcome as it was so cold and we had been travelling for 4 hours). We had booked a table in the restaurant for our first night and it was delicious, so good in fact we ate there again before we left. We had a superior executive room in Black Jacks which was lovely, furniture nice and attention to detail, the room was so large you felt you wanted to spend time enjoying it - mostly I just want to sleep in the room and not be in there much. The make-up mirror in the bathroom was fab and the lighting was great - usually I have to take my mirror to a window and kneel on the floor to apply my make up and do my hair as it the only place where there is enough light etc. PG tips in the room (great for us)! The only slight downside is the car park is quite small (nothing much they can do about that) so when we went out on the Sunday we couldn't get back in but we parked in the car park (just a short walk away) after 6pm this is free - there was a space later so we managed to get back in. Also we found it very busy as I say (it was easter weekend) but we didn't mind as the staff went out of their way to see to you as quickly as they could and were so courteous. All in all if we come back to Caernarfon (and hopefully we will soon) I would not think of stopping anywhere else! The railway trip is a must and although a bit expensive was well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for the Inn and staff . I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Boy and the staff looked after you so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Dating back to 1522 this inn has character by the bagful. Walk in off the street on a very cold spring day to a roaring open fire, extremely attentive staff and enjoy some excellent real ale and food - well that was our experience. We enjoyed the sharing hot and cold plate of tapas/mezze which at £12.65 was good value, well presented and more than enough for 2 people. The barman gave me a taster of the different real ales so that I could make my choice which was a nice touch. Right in the heart of the old quarter of Caernarfon town, this is a must visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for review , i will pass these comments to all staff to thank them .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this historic hotel within the Walls of Caernarfon back in February. Our room was stunning - four poster bed, sparkling bathroom, cosy, warm, stylish and comfortable. More like a luxury personal bedroom than a generic hotel room - so comfortable it was unbelieveable!
Our welcome at the hotel was friendly and genuinely warm, they had kindly made us a reservation in their restaurant that night.
The food in the restaurant is to die for, local produce cooked to perfection - you will not leave hungry! So much wonderful choice on the menu you will take ages trying to decide which to try!
Good advice given on wine too for those who are unsure what to drink.
Great local beers for real ale enthusiasts!
The following morning we went to breakfast - the breakfast room large and spacious but warm - the hot food cooked to order, again local produce, award winning sausages and local caught fish is served. Again, you won't leave the breakfast table hungry!
The staff advised us on best way to get to Snowdon and suggested a route to take - invaluable local advice given freely and on our return to the hotel the staff were genuinly interested on how our climb went and if we had enjoyed our day.
An evening spent in their bar tasting local beers - the bar staff friendly and informative.
I cannot rave a bout this hotel enough - I work in the travel industry and I have to say this is one of the best hotel stays I have ever had - I look forward to visiting them again and thank you for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: Spoil yourselves - book a room with a four poster bed!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I agree we do have a very rare Inn in our care. I wish to thank you for the review and totally agree with you views of course . I will ensure the staff are aware of your comments. We print all reviews out for staff and if we can change anything for the better we do, so feedback is useful for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Boy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.