We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Celtic Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Celtic Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this lovely hotel. The staff were kind and attentive without being obsequious and the hotel felt cosy and safe on a wet and cold night.
I ate in the bar and had a delicious 3 course meal, the breakfast was cooked fresh to order too. I would gladly return here for a holiday!
The staff had no problem in allowing me to park over the day for my meeting too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    181
    64
    12
    12
See reviews for
100
209
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel was welcoming, warm and the staff were polite and helpful, free parking is close by and plentiful. There was a rather strong smell of chlorine from the swimming pool as you entered, but can't say it bothered us. The hotel bar was OK, but not somewhere you'd really want to linger, and there were no real ales....always a let down for my husband! Our executive room was on the corner of the building so had double aspect windows with a good view of the sea. It was over warm for us, but in order to open the windows you had to open the secondary glazing which made it noisy, we overcame this by leaving them open whilst we were out and closing them when got back. Overall decor was good, bathroom clean and pleasant, but the carpets, (as is the case of most hotels I visit) could do with a good shampooing! Breakfast was excellent, one of the best I've had in some time! We did not get around to eating dinner in the town, so ordered sandwiches in our room, which were fresh tasty and well presented. Didn't use pool/spa so can't comment, but it looked nice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My mother and I stayed at this hotel between February 24 and 27 on a coach holiday. I had contacted the hotel with several queries prior to booking and each question was answered fully and was a great help to making us when deciding to book the holiday. Many thanks to Darren Lacey, Reservations Manager for his kindness and patience in answering my questions. The hotel is only a 3 star, but we, like others in our party, feel it should be a 4 star hotel. The décor was lovely and the rooms clean and spacious. As I use a wheelchair when away, we found that the spacious room was good for us and being able to maneuverer the wheelchair around. The bathroom was also large enough to accommodate my wheelchair and had bars by the toilet to aid getting up and down too. The staff were warm, friendly and welcoming and helpful too. There was a good choice of food at meal times, with something to cater for most tastes. If anyone couldn't find something to eat from the choices available, then they must have been very fussy and hard to please.

We enjoyed our stay and would love to return in the future if possible and will certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at the Celtic Royal on St. David's Day weekend for two nights. Excellent service ,a warm welcome and excellent food with plenty of choices. Beautiful spacious bedrooms. Polite, courteous and hardworking staff. Thank you for a brilliant time, already booked to visit next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent three nights at this hotel and everything about our stay was excellent. The rooms were spacious and clean, the food was varied, plentiful and of the best quality and the staff were superb, extremely friendly, helpful and always greeted us and made us feel welcome, We would definitely return and will certainly be recommended to our friends.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORBY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We're just back from a four day trip to this hotel with the above company.

The hotel is large and welcoming. We had bed, breakfast and evening meal.

The food was fantastic, I could not have had better food anywhere else. There was several choices at every course for dinner. Breakfast was cereal, yoghurt, prunes, fruit and full welsh cooked with the best bacon I've ever seen in a hotel!

The rooms were large with a really good hot shower.

There was also a leisure spa with pool, sauna, jacquizzi, very good my husband said.


We went out to several Welsh towns with an excellent driver called Paul.

All in all good value for money. We will definitely use this company again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We did a £99 package overnight stay on Sat 22nd Feb - it included full use of Leisure services and 3 course dinner and full welsh breakfast on the sunday.Everything was perfect = Room was large and clean and pleasant,bathroom was spotless, shower lovely and warm. FREE Wifi too and a good strong connection all over hotel. The Pool was a bit busy but was clean - spa and steam and sauna were fine. Our allowance for dinner was 19.95 but you could have done that easily on most 3 courses, we chose slightly over the allowance but the food was beautiful and the staff were so helpful and pleasant. We had drinks after in the lounge area - very pleasant. We had a good nights sleep - hotel was remarkably quiet after 11.00 considering it was full, breakfast was help yourself and was hot,welcoming and so much you could never complain - once again the staff were on board to bring more toast and tea/coffee always with a smile and a bit of banter. Would certainly stay again!!!!

Room Tip: We were in Rooms 138 and 139 far enough away from Reception - there is also a Lift which my dad at 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.