We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a weird experience of contrasts loses this hotel at least 1 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Celtic Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Celtic Royal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
scotland west
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“a weird experience of contrasts loses this hotel at least 1 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

the celtic royal is in a seriously downbeat/derelict area of the town, but the hotel itself imposes as you approach. the facade and the reception area are grand, the staff friendly and efficient. the hotel is very clean. there is a smart restaurant and bar/bistro. there is a leisure centre.
then we went to our room.
we had a room that felt more like a single being used as a double, a bit poky. it had one medium sized window looking onto drab roofs. the furniture was cheap, tired and again drab, the curtains plasticky and flowery. there was a lace curtain. the en suite was ok, except we had to wrench the shower door open and kick it shut - this must have delighted our neighbours but we had no choice. the shower was fabulously powerful and the towels fluffy if a bit small. the toiletires again very cheap B&B style.
some of the rooms are in a newer section and some at the front may have more room and bigger windows/better light, but my heart did sink when i walked in to our room, especially as we had just stayed at the fantastically stylish and comfortable Castle Hotel in Conwy. how odd it felt to be in a 4 star hotel where the room is less inspiring than a cheap B&B! it just didn't fit. with a very little refurbishment of this type of room, the hotel would have been perfect for our needs.
another oddity that never happened to me before is that our room was serviced so late. twice we got back at 3.30, and the chambermaids had not been in. the 1st time i thought it was a genuine mistake and rang for towels/milk and we did the bed and tidied up ourselves. the next day we got back later and all was fine, the 3rd day again at 3.30 and nothing done. it meant we had our room serviced only ONCE in a stay of 4 nights! the breakfast is a very good tho' not a top class buffet, and be very careful not to go for breakfast between 7.30-8.30 as this is when all the coach parties are serviced before taking off for the day amd the only word is pandemonium.
the staff in the restaurant and throughout the hotel is plentiful and brilliantly helpful. all we asked for was always provided and provided immediately.
we ate twice in the restaurant and again were very impressed. the menu was varied enough, all was well cooked and presented and a 3 course dinner at £18.95 very reasonable indeed. there was a good choice of wines and we had a solid pinot grigio.
my husband particularly enjoyed his crab salad and we both had lamb with a pea and mint jus which was lovely. vegetables were well cooked and plentiful. on the second night i tried fish, fillet of sea bass if my memory serves me well, and it was perfectly cooked with good saute potatoes and vegetables. my husband enjoyed lemon tart one night and a chocolate dessert the next and i had lovely welsh cheeses with grapes and celery.
the only hiccup at dinner was the wine was not cold enough but we used ice cubes from our jug of iced water to cool it!
this was a very odd hotel experience indeed. there was nothing wrong with our stay essentially and some parts were very very good indeed. however the time warp B&B room just did not fit with the rest of the hotel and i did feel quite sad as otherwise this hotel - despite being coach party heaven & a bit too busy at times - could hit 4 and even 4 and a half stars. we would go again, but i would now ask if there are any better rooms available before booking again. i'd certainly recommend going out of season as in summer it must be so busy i wonder if a quiet comfortable stay could really be possible.

Room Tip: ask for one in the new annexe or a large room with a larger window in the old hotel - they must be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    181
    64
    12
    12
See reviews for
100
209
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have just spent 4 nights at the Celtic Royal with a culture group of 31 people on coach tour.
Check in was very rapid as hotel had already sorted out the paperwork and room numbers for our group. We were in a room which appeared to be in a modern wing on 2nd floor with 3 short flights of steps to negotiate to get to room. Good size room with a double and single bed and bathroom with bath and a proper shower fitment over the bath. Room was rather dimly lit and difficult to find a spot to read except in bed. Small modern TV on the wall with poor sound reproduction system. Excellent WiFi coverage in the room but mobile phone coverage very poor..Bed cover was a very heavt weight duvet (horrible but very common in hotels nowadays)which was not long enought to provide cover for a tall person.The two small windows overlooked the large interior area of the hotel which now extends around four sides of a square.
We were given a set time for breakfast and dinner which was very sensible given the number of guests (3 coach parties on most days). Breakfast was self service from a large selection of hot and cold items. For dinner we were offered a reasonable selection of dishes from the menu of the day. The standard of the cuisine was very good for a three star hotel. The wine list has a large selection of very drinkable wines at the £15.95 price level. The service was provided by a largely female staff of friendly and willing Euro[pean girls.
The hotel has a large car park and is opposite an Asda supermarket and a short walk from the castle and town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed 1 night in the Celtic Manor with my wife and found a little gem of a hotel. Friendly staff lovely clean bedroom and a fantastic high quality full English breakfast. Did not get chance to use the pool or spa but will do on our next stay. My only minor criticism was the pillows I had were very thin and not to my liking but never thought to ask to change them. Will do next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed only one night at this hotel, as part of a coach tour, but! it was a very pleasent stay.
Very nice room excellent food.Nice location. Overall we would be pleased
to stay here for longer, given the oportunity.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed from Monday to Friday 10th - 12th September. Great hotel; luggage unloaded and transported to bedroom top marks; welcome at reception really friendly and helpful; bedroom decor great; dining staff friendly and helpful; food good; lovely lounging areas with comfortable, lush sofas.

Room Tip: If disabled make sure you request a suitable room...I had a lovely room but after the lift there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Booked last minute, for two nights, so as to meet up with family members on Anglesey. A lovely hotel, very clean and well kept all round. Very competent staff and good choice of breakfast items. Had a singer as in house entertainment on one of our nights which was lovely. Very pleasant public bar/bistro area and lounges and excellent gym/pool areas. Would recommend highly and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: A little noisy in the front rooms of the hotel - recommend rear rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wonderful entrance hall and staircase
Friendly staff
Lovelly pool though a little crowded, great buffet breakfast, rooms clean and comfortable but a little small especially the en-suit bathroom.
Close enough to the new marina and the Castle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.