We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DOC Cafe Bar

DOC Cafe Bar
Y Galeri | Victoria Dock, Caernarfon LL55 1SQ, Wales
01286 685 250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 98 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Cuisines: Bar, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
North Wales
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Miserable staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Looked like a nice place to sit and chill with a coffee but wasn't the case. Staff were miserable and rude and coffee was rubbish. The cake was dry and crumbling when I stuck my fork in. Such a lively spot to sit and look at the view. Could be so much better

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Had food here a couple of weeks ago. Great choice of food on the menu and was surprised at the amount of gluten free meals as I am coeliac. The staff were very helpfull. Would definitely recommend this lovely little cafe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have eaten here quite a few times over the summer, sitting outside with the beautiful view. The food and service was always excellent. However we ate there 2 weeks ago, taking friends who were holidaying with us, and I was very disappointed. Starter we ordered 2 portions of hummus and bread, only one portion came. For mains two of us ordered the small portion of fish, the waitress came back to say she was sorry there was only one small and one large portion, so we agreed to that. She then came back to advise there was, actually, only 1 portion of fish full stop. So our friend had the lamb, it wasn't up to the lamb we had had a few weeks earlier, and the presentation was poor. What a shame, my favourite place to eat had turned into my least favourite. Then to my dismay, the vacuum cleaner was plonked in the middle of the restaurant just next to our table, it wasn't even that late, I was disgusted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sit outside for great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for coffee and hot chocolate. Great quality drinks. Lovely flapjack good value for money with great view

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food just so-so, not a great value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nothing special. Food was average. Water views. There are better choices available. 50-character minimum sucks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DOC Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to DOC Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DOC Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.