We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award winning Indian restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sopna Indian Restaurant

Sopna Indian Restaurant
Y Felin Wen | Rhosbodrual, Caernarfon LL55 2BB, Wales
01286 675222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 99 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Queensferry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Award winning Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Sopna is an award winning Indian restaurant. Owned and run by Sid it is a trip well worth making. The food is excellent and the welcome warm and inviting. My particular favorite was the chefs mixed kebab, truly delicious. The restaurant is fairly is small so booking is advisable, found on the Llanberis road just outside Caernarfon.
There are also Sopna restaurant's just outside Menai Bridge, and Llangefini both on Anglesea

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    17
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The thing that stuck in my mind most about this place is just how cold we were in there. We were sat by the radiator which slightly warm but the whole party was frozen. We waited a long to time for our order to be taken and a long time for it to arrive. The service wasn't amazing but the food was very very nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Over rated!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wanted to like this place - as a local I knew it had won some awards. However, the owner was very smug and arrogant - especially toward Tripadvisor. He said he didn't pay any notice to Tripadvisor, so I guess he won't care about this report too! He was smug with his awards too, but the food was average at best. There are honestly far better local Indian places to eat nearby - the Polash in Pwllheli for example show great humility and their food knock spots of this place. Won't be going back for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Service is very good and with a smile.
The food is very good and the menu choices are extremely wide
Be careful not to over order as we did as the portion sizes are quite generous.
Prices are very reasonable and a take home service of ant leftovers is available on request.
Recommend a visit if in the area and looking for an alternative to bar meals.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Starters nice and really quite tasty, but from then things took a turn for the worse. We waited for AGES for the main course, the vegetable masala was a disgrace, bright red slurry-consistency sauce hiding a few potato chunks and broccoli. I'm no cook but with a half decent recipe I could probably do better myself, and will probably have to try next time as we won't be going back to this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sopna Indian Restaurant also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Sopna Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sopna Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.