We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Greek Meze, Lovely Restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ouzo and Olives

Ouzo and Olives
16 Hole in the Wall Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RF, Wales
01286 674333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 99 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek Meze, Lovely Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Have visited this restaurant on a number of occasions and it is always up to the same high standard.

The food is superb and priced very affordably. What some reviewers seem to be oblivious to is the fact that the restaurant serves meze, rather than traditional main courses, and you thus order several to share. There is plenty of choice on the menu and the meze portions are generous.

The restaurant itself has a nice interior and the owner is very friendly. There seem to not be many customers, which we couldn't understand, given our excellent experiences, but the absence of other people made it an even more relaxing atmosphere and, whilst the service is extremely attentive, it's certainly not intrusive.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    31
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
columbus ohio
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“OPA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Really surprised to find a great Greek restaurant in the middle of this historic neighborhood. Although the selections were considered tapas size, they were priced right so one could order a variety to enjoy. Salad was incredibly fresh and the tzatziki was excellent. Great change if you're looking for something other than traditional English fare.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience. Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We visited this restaurant after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. We were unsure how many meze dishes to order from the selection but chose 5 for the two of us with garlic bread also. The food was freshly cooked and arrived fairly quickly. We enjoyed the experience and had a pudding to finish as the meze dishes weren't quite enough to fill us. Would visit again when we are in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Friendly Meze Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My daughter and I ate here for dinner. We were the only customers. The owner was friendly and chatty (but not intrusive). They have a patio, but we ate inside as it was raining. We had a selection of mezes - that's what they do, not main dishes (mezes are like tapas) - followed by a spectacular orange cake dessert. Everything got eaten, and my daughter was happy!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had been to this restaurant before in late in 2010 and had fabulous food, it must have taken us 30 minutes to read the menu it was vast and the choice was great. This time we were very disappointed. The menu was seriously limited and very disappointing. The food we did have was ok, nothing special and the portion size was tiny - we were still hungry when we left. Sorry to say but we won't be going back there again ! TIP to the Olive & Ouzo - go back to the original menu it was much much better !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ouzo and Olives also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Ouzo and Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ouzo and Olives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.