We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for 2.5 year old” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gypsy Wood Park

Gypsy Wood Park
Tyddyn Newborough | Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL55 2YA, Wales
+44 1286 673133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Attractions in Caernarfon
Type: Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gypsy Wood is an enchanting outdoor attraction for the whole family and is situated in the foothills of Snowdonia, North Wales. Set in 20 acres of natural beauty, discover one of Wales's best kept outdoor secrets. Experience one of the UK's largest miniature G Scale garden railways. Befriend the animals - we have miniature Shetland ponies, donkeys, pygmy goats and Vietnamese pot bellied pigs to name but a few. Ride woody the train a 10 half inch gauge for nearly half a mile through the park.
Kuala Lumpur,, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun for 2.5 year old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a great time. There was lots to find in the wood. The animals were in excellent condition and a good size for an under three ie not big and scary. The staff were friendly and helpful and happy to engage with our little one.
The day we went on was very sunny and it was beautiful. The grounds were freshly mown and there was lots to play with and large spaces to run around in. All in all a great afternoon out with a small family and a grandma.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    12
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Absolute Rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited Gypsy Wood yesterday in a group of 10 adults and 3 children. First of all it was very expensive at £6.99 per adult. It did state there was a discount for large groups on the price list but obviously our group wasn't large enough as there was no movement on price. The whole place consists of a small selection of farm animals standard with a petting zoo, a decent enough play ground and some other very poor quality 'attractions'. It was a gorgeous day so the place was looking its best. My favourite attraction was one called 'Insect Hotel' or something to that effect. I was expecting an indoor area full of spiders, beetles and other creepy crawlies. But to our disbelief it consisted of a pile of old pallets, house bricks and roof slates with plastic insects stuck to it which looked like were free from McDonalds! Not a real creepy crawly in sight. It would have been better to have an empty space. The whole place was very tired and in need of some serious tlc. Perhaps they should invest some of the extortionate amount of money they charge for entry!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for under 7s”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visited Gypsy Wood in mixed weather last week with 3 4yr old, 3 2 yr olds and 2 newborns. On arrival thought we might only get an hour there, but it's very deceptive and there's lots to do. In the end we stayed about 4 hours! All the kids and adults loved it.

Spent lots of time looking at the trains and animals and playing on the great playpark. Great worksheets with items and animals to tick off as you spot them. The girls adored hunting for fairies and the boys spent ages playing trains and generally running around!

Will definitely be back

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than first impressions - Great for little ones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our first impression on having paid for entry was - ahh - we'll be in and out in no more than an hour. How wrong we were!
Our 2 and 4 year old boys absolutely loved this place despite the bitterly cold weather. The model trains kept them busy for an hour by themselves and although this is quite small scale as an attraction, a lot of thought has been put in and there were some nice touches.
I'll try! to be brief - model trains -(the chance to control 'Thomas and James' model trains themselves), feeding and cuddling farm animals - nice castle playground and little ones zip wire -nature walks, beautiful despite the barbie style fairies in some places. A large fairground style train ride the boys adored (strangely only runs once an hour on the hour). Lovely touches such as a fleet of ride on tractors, diggers cars and scooters - spotless and freely available for toddlers to pick up and play with. The staff (including a fairy princess in her Grotto) were friendly, helpful and great with kids. Oh and great fun themed and spotless toilets! including baby change in both Gents and Ladies.
Negatives - The cafe is limited and covered rather than indoors and although not extortionate, the price is substantial. (They do accept Tesco reward vouchers which would make it great value).
Overall - this is no Legoland or Disney in scale or variety - but it is a well thought out little park and had more than enough to keep us busy for 4+ hours despite the bitter cold. Fantastic if you have little ones.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Trip to Gypsy Wood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Visited last week with my other half and my two year old son having been staying nearby in Portmadog. I felt that it was expensive to get in and I was thankful that my son was only two as there is not much to do for anyone older. The model trains as you enter are the best bit, he did like looking at these for a while. The rest of the park is quite underwhelming, as is the cafe so I would take sandwiches if I were you.
Overall, it kept us busy for an hour but is not somewhere that we would ever go back. The cafe was overpriced and the entrance fee is too high. The train in the car park is also laughable. Only open every hour, it is a small circuit which takes around 15 seconds to go around and, were you to want to go around it more than once, you have to pay an additional fee to do so! This is not included in the exorbitant entrance fee...
Not really worth a visit, there are much better trains and/or animal parks nearby.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy Wood Park also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Gypsy Wood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gypsy Wood Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.