We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic YHA - Well Run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Bryn Gwynant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added YHA Bryn Gwynant to your Saves list
YHA Bryn Gwynant
Nantgwynant, Caernarfon LL55 4NP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic YHA - Well Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here recently for a planned ascent of Snowdon via the Watkin Path.

Stayed at the outbulding by the car park - en suite room for 8 of us - typical YHA bedding and everything was clean.

Corina the manager was fantastic and good fun - very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was the only minor point that a couple of things were cold and it was served rather than helping yourself.

Note there is no pub or restaurant in walking distance.

Look forward to visiting again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    15
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
3
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with 4 other guys in a 5 bed ensuite bunk room prior to Snowden the following morning. Pre ordered dinner but were running badly late for kitchen closure time due to bad weather and heavy traffic. telephoned ahead and manager, Corina, very understanding and helpful. Chef (didn't catch his name but spot on)stayed behind at work and cooked meal fresh for us when we got there, way beyond the call of duty! Wasn't sure what to expect as never stayed in a YH before but very pleasantly surprised. The setting and views were amazing. Room and communal areas a little tired but we were not expecting the Savoy anyhow and it had everything you needed. We had dinner and breakfast following morning which were both excellent and superb value for money. The manager, Corina, was brilliant, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for her. Can't recommend it,and them, highly enough. Thanks. Pete & gang.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hi,

it was 10 of us staying in Bryn Gwynant after conquest of Snowdon. Usually not writing rewievs but, this hostel is just great option where to stay overnight. Absolutelly amazing location with amazing views, very helpfull staf,food and rooms great for the price. Absolutelly satisfied with service provided and would recomend to anyone looking for high standard touristic hostel.

Peter Hahn

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Arrival at night was fine, however seeing the location and the Lake the following morning was breathtaking.

On arrival, staff are very helpful! You could expect this type of service in a 4* hotel.

Poor cooking facilities and no hot water. Cooking chilled sausages took 45mins and after a lack of hot water meant could not wash up efficiently.

All we wanted was a nice hot shower and a place to rest our heads. However there was NO hot water anywhere. In the end we had to walk 300 yards across a dark car park and lane to get to another building where to our relief was a nice hot shower.

I slept well, however I can sleep through anything. My girlfriend found it very noisy in the morning and was not too happy.

To finish on 2 good points
# Amazing location and views
# Literally 5mins from Pen y Pas track (Miners & Pyg) up Snowdon

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here in the main house for 3 nights in a 2 bunk private room.

We arrived by bus from Beddgelert (this runs roughly every 2 hours 9.20-4.20) and used the bus to get up to Pen y Pass (£1.60 single) and then another bus to Llanberis to do the Llanberis path up Snowdon. The only difficulty was that the last bus back past the YHA leaves Pen y Pass at 4.20, so we had a very pleasant walk back from Pen y Pass on the advice of the bus driver who said a taxi from Llanberis would be very expensive. (Apparently you can also buy a Red Rover ticket and go back via Caernarfon) We also did three-quarters of the quiet Watkin path on a drizzly day but turned back due to the wind on the ridge and not fancying the prospect of a scree scramble in the wet and wind.

We self-catered evening meals (big fridge and five sets of 2 x hobs and grills). There is a big drying room which did the job very well! There is a washing machine in the drying room, so I wonder whether you can use this if you bring washing powder or liquid. The main house was always warm, and we had control of the heating in our room.

There is no mobile access, wifi or tv so a lovely retreat and a chance to chat and curl up reading in the common room.

The location next to Llyn Gwynant is just stunning and you can sit eating breakfast in the dining room overlooking the lake.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with local info etc.

We paid for breakfast (£4.99) which was very adequate and included juices, cereals, cheese, toast etc, croissants (on one morning) and a 7 item hot breakfast which was mainly fine apart from the sausages which tasted a bit odd. Staff worked hard to make sure your hot breakfast was hot and freshly cooked for you.

Everything that is important is really clean and smells clean - bedding, toilets and showers (fairly newly fitted), self-catering kitchen, cutlery and crockery. I know this is a hostel but I really felt like the whole place could do with a serious deep clean - the dining room tables were sticky, most of the windows were dirty round the edges and grimy, and there were condensation marks running down the wall in our room. I would have set about improving things a bit if we'd had any cleaning materials. I was a bit surprised that there wasn't any cleaning spray in the self-catering kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bala, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A wonderful Victorian house, in a fabulous location, overlooking Llyn Gwynant, and with views of Snowdonia. The staff (what there was of them) were extremely friendly and helpful, but terribly overworked through lack of staff.
On the 1st morning of our 2 night stay, my Granddaughter and I actually helped one poor girl with her jobs, as she was the only one on, and had cooked breakfast for about 60 people, and then had to clean all the rooms, about 70 beds, all on her own!!! So we gave her a hand with the rooms and the dining room.
The whole place could do with some well needed TLC, it wouldn't take much, a good deep clean, and more staff!!!
I think YHA are letting the place sit on its 'location laurels', come on YHA, it could be a jewel in your crown!

Room Tip: NOT rooms 3 and 4, which are 2 bed rooms, and are right over the front entrance, and were very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location of this hostel, just above Llynn Gwynant, is truly superb and it is hard to beat the tranquility of the garden looking down on the lake, on a sunny summer evening. As with all hostels, the staff, especially the manager, are helpful and enthusiastic and it is a very cheap place to stay.
However, the hostel is badly in need of some tlc - the torn, shabby furniture might be acceptable but broken toilet seats, for example, are completely out of place. The evening meal is very reasonably priced, but one of our party was served the yellowest brocolli I have ever seen - it should have been condemned a week previously, and when I asked for olive oil or dressing for my salad, I was told no, with a look that suggested I had made the most outrageous suggestion. Breakfast - at £4.99 - was also cheap, but very basic and I would recommend anyone to avoid the packed lunch which, even at £5.50. is very bad value.
Good cheap place to stay, perfectly situated for the Watkin Path up Snowdon, but do your own catering.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Bryn Gwynant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bryn Gwynant

Address: Nantgwynant, Caernarfon LL55 4NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Snowdonia at its most serene in this early Victorian mansion in the heart of the National Park. Set in 40 acres of wooded grounds with stunning views over Llyn Gwynant and Snowdon, this is the perfect escape from the rat race for families and individuals alike. Walkers will be at home here, with plenty of low and high level routes all around. Don’t miss the classic Watkin path up Snowdon, which begins less than a mile from the hostel and leads you into incredible mountain scenery - just don’t forget your camera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your YHA Bryn Gwynant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Bryn Gwynant Hotel Caernarfon
YHA Bryn Gwynant Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Bryn Gwynant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.