We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute must stay B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cartref Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cartref Guest House to your Saves list
Cartref Guest House
23 Market Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute must stay B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My partner and i stayed here this week. Had been to Dublin for the night previous and were looking for a quiet piece of Wales to chill out in after a full on Irish night! This B&B was absolutely perfect in every way, immaculatey clean with special attention to little details, there were even 2 bottles of spring water left by the bedside. Here, you have the feeling of being looked after in someones home, and that extends to the breakfast which was superb. You can tell that your hosts Roger and Mary go out their way to make your stay a special one. Ideally situated within the old town walls, made this a very special stay for my partner and i, thanks again Mary and Roger

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    28
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
64
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Roger and Mary at Cartref gave us a very friendly, warm welcome when we arrived in the evening and Roger cooked us a superb dinner. The next morning breakfast was a splendid feast with a wide choice of cereals and cooked dishes and home-made bread. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and we noticed that thoughtful care had been taken to provide for our every need. The house is a tall georgian building within the walls of Caernarvon castle and the decor was all in keeping with the history of the house, while at the same time, the fittings in the bedroom and bathroom reflected modern standards of comfort and elegance. Caernarvon castle was fascinating and we enjoyed our trip on the Welsh Highland Railway the next day through magnificent Welsh scenery.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay. Friendly owners, delicious breakfast, very child-friendly. The rooms are comfortable, very nicely decorated and welcoming. The location is very good, right in the centre of town. A real find.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, Cumbria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed at the Cartref Guest House for 3 nights and found it great. It is very well situated within the old castle walls, which in itself is very quaint. Plenty of car parks close to hand. Very friendly and helpful owners who couldn't do enough for you. What can I say about breakfast - the best breakfast menu I've seen in a long time, with something to suit everyone. Gluten-free options also available as well as their home-made vegetarian sausages - which are a must!!! Would definately recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

we arrived late evening to find that the inn's computer had crashed so they werent expecting us. None the less, Roger was completely hospitable and immediately welcomed us with kindness. Our room was small but cozy and the en suite shower was good. it was slightly chilly but the room had a separate spare heater so i was able to get warm quickly.
the Breakfast in the morning was BEYOND SUPERB. I highly recommend getting their veggie full breakfast even if you are not vegatarian becuase the homemade sausage was to die for, it was a great stay and i was very satisfied. Mary was baking bread as we left and i wished i had asked for some..it smelled divine! For the price, the location and the meal, this is cheaper than what i would expect to pay for a stay like this, very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartref Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref Guest House

Address: 23 Market Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartref Guesthouse is a lovely Georgian house with a wonderful atmosphere in a location that is steeped in history and convenient for all the town's amnesties and local attractions. Roger and Mary bid their guests a hearty welcome to their home and are happy to provide for all guests needs. Being excellent cooks they provide a 5 course breakfast that is exceptional and for which they use only the best of local food. Their home made vegetarian sausage and potato cake is a great hit with guests and they provide both breakfasts and evening meals for any special diet, all home cooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cartref Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartref Guest House Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartref Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.