We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cartref Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cartref Guest House to your Saves list
Cartref Guest House
23 Market Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent a short break at Bank Holiday and had a great time. Roger and Mary are very hospitable and even produced a birthday cake as it was a special birthday for me. Breakfasts are extremely good with a wide choice of cooked breakfast as well as supporting cereals, melon, fruit juice etc. Just what you want when exploring North Wales. Very convenient for centre of Caernarfon and no noise problems

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    28
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
64
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for a night at the Cartref Guest House. It is situated in the walled area of the city which is very convenient. Mostly everything is accessible within a few minutes. Check-in was efficient. Breakfast was delicious. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife, baby son and I stayed for three nights during our Easter vacation...it was a GOOD choice. The owners were very accommodating and even helped us in with our plethora of 'stuff' as we had been away from home for over a week. It was an excellent place to explore the locale...and breakfast set us up for the entire day, every day! We visited Conwy and the 'mountain zoo' as well as the near shore of Anglesey - both Beaumaris and the 'sea zoo' - before heading east to Llanberis at the foot of Snowdon, Beddgelert, Pwilheli and finally, Harlech... All this was made possible in such a short time because of its location and their stellar breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed over and thought that they had made a mistake in the cost - our room per night was £50! Excellent value.

Breakfast was plentiful and the choice extensive - full marks.

Rodger and Mary are great hosts and very quirky (in the nicest way possible).

Definately worth another visit later this year.

And no we are not related to the owners!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We made a booking for one of our staff, who was working at one of our Clients’ premises in Caernarfon. We received good feedback from our staff member, who would wish to stay at the Cartref the next time she is in Caernarfon. We found them very efficient to deal with and was given a good price. The Cartref has been added to our database of preferred accommodation.
SKU retail ltd

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay in this B&B. Rodger and Mary are really welcoming and friendly. The breakfast is awesome and we were invited for a great dinner. The rooms are cosy and nicely decorated. The castle is only a 3 minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

A lovely room and the best breakfast I have ever had in a B and B! I thought they were joking when they told me what my options were - the eggs benedict set me up for the whole day! We went further into Wales and stayed in a 5 star the next night but honestly, Mary and Roger's was better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartref Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref Guest House

Address: 23 Market Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartref Guesthouse is a lovely Georgian house with a wonderful atmosphere in a location that is steeped in history and convenient for all the town's amnesties and local attractions. Roger and Mary bid their guests a hearty welcome to their home and are happy to provide for all guests needs. Being excellent cooks they provide a 5 course breakfast that is exceptional and for which they use only the best of local food. Their home made vegetarian sausage and potato cake is a great hit with guests and they provide both breakfasts and evening meals for any special diet, all home cooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cartref Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartref Guest House Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartref Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.