We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Discovery !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cartref Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cartref Guest House to your Saves list
Cartref Guest House
23 Market Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Discovery !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed here on 13/7/2011 just for an overnight stay I would have stayed longer but it was booked out for the rest of the week ( I am not surprised ). I met the owner Mary at the front door she was polishing the door handle and letterbox, this sort of pride in their Guest House is present throughout. My room was well appointed, freshly decorated with quality fixtures and Furnishings including a comfortable bed, that would rival a 4star hotel, and spotlessly clean.Mary was an excellent friendly host, her breakfast again, quality food with free range eggs. The breakfast area tastefully decorated bright and cheerful. There is free parking within a 2 minuet walk away, the iceing on the cake ! I will return later in the year with friends highly recomended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    27
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
60
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting Caernafon Castle. The B&B is on a quiet little cobbled street right in the centre. The hosts were welcoming, and had a lovely cat called Wanted. This is ideal place to stay for a weekend away. The breakfast is really nice and a brilliant choice. We stayed in the small rose room, which was small but had everything we needed and was very cute and comftable! We loved it. We also had a shared bathroom with one other room that was next door but it was very clean so didn't mind at all. Would def stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Thanks to Mary for our great welcome and true hospitality during the Castles Relay weekend. Glad we booked with you. Ideal for the start of the relay at the Castle.

Les Croupiers Running Club

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

A very welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast choice was wide and good quality. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed with my husband and friend at The Cartref Guest House for 2 nights at the end of May. From the start we loved the location, the look of the house from the street and were greeted very warmly by Mary the owner. Room3, our room was well equipped, very clean with a large en suite and had real character. We slept well on both nights and had a lovely breakfast in the morning.
Mary is very proud of her house and this is very apparent in the way her guests are cared for. I would definately go back again in the future x

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We were in Caernarfon for the first time touring. Mary's welcome created a relaxed feel. The room had a large bathroom, comfortable bed and a quiet room. B&B breakfasts can be boringly repetitive but Mary's were delicious, restaurant standard. Stayed 2 nights but could have easily stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etna, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We really enjo yed our two night stay. When we arrived Mary, our hostess, mentioned that she would be cooking that evening for other guests and would we like to join in. Bottom line is that she is a wonderful cook and we did not find occasion to dine any where else during our stay. On the second day she said that she would like to prepare a traditional Welsh dinner for us that evening, which she did. Did I mention that her full english breakfast was also wonderful. Mary was very helpful and gave us good advice when we asked for it. All in all she should be classified as a Welsh national treasure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cartref Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartref Guest House

Address: 23 Market Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cartref Guesthouse is a lovely Georgian house with a wonderful atmosphere in a location that is steeped in history and convenient for all the town's amnesties and local attractions. Roger and Mary bid their guests a hearty welcome to their home and are happy to provide for all guests needs. Being excellent cooks they provide a 5 course breakfast that is exceptional and for which they use only the best of local food. Their home made vegetarian sausage and potato cake is a great hit with guests and they provide both breakfasts and evening meals for any special diet, all home cooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cartref Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartref Guest House Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cartref Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.