We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Victoria House B&B to your Saves list
Victoria House B&B
Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at Victoria House the night before the Snowdon Marathon. Had a wonderful welcome and really felt at home. The accommodation was outstanding, everything was top quality and every need catered for. Would not hesitate to stay with Jan again if we are in the Caernarfon area and have already recommended Victoria House to several people who took part in the marathon and will be looking for accommodation next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
206
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Diane and I were privileged to stay two nights at Victoria House last week and without a doubt this was the best lodging of our eight day trip. Jan (and helper Lil!) were fine hostesses and did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. Our large first floor room boasted views of the castle, a huge King Sized bed and plenty of moving around space. Bathrobes and slippers, not to mentioned a fully stocked refrigerator were very considerate additions. The bath was huge with a jetted tub and power shower. Breakfast both mornings was excellent and plentiful. DStay herer if you can; you will enjoy every minute.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor room facing the street. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I were in Caernarfon and stayed at the Victoria house after exploreing the entire coastline of Wales. Stayed in many B&Bs but Jan's was the best and most reasonably priced by far. When we arrived there was no place to park but hey, no problem, Jan jumped in the car and rode with us around the block until she found us a spot (ended up right at her doorstep). Went upstairs and next thing we knew she was delivering a couple of beers and a fruit plate. Caught a great view of the sun setting over the Menai Strait from our room. Comfortable bed, great breakfast, fantastic hospitality between Jan and her mom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

On a recent visit to Caernarfon I found that I was double booked into the hotel I had planned to stay at. No worries! The Victoria House B&B was recommended as alternate accommodation and I'm so glad I found it! From the minute I set foot on the property until the time I left two days later I felt right at home. Jan, the owner, went out of her way to make my stay pleasant and comfortable. A very nice touch was a glass of wine when I arrived and a quick tour of the property during which Jan took me up on the old town walls and explained some local history. My room was on the top floor - Room 5, I think. It was extremely spacious and well decorated with a beautiful en suite and the most comfortable bed I've slept in outside my own. The breakfasts were excellent. I had a wonderful experience at the Victoria House - it's a place I would recommend highly. If I'm back in Caernarfon again, that's where you'll find me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Thank you Jan and family for making my husbands birthday weekend Fantastic. You have ticked all the boxes for us. Location inside the town walls and a quick stroll to many great places to eat and drink. The room was huge and the bed was so comfy, my husband could have brought it home. The extras in the room were a big bonus of nice toiletries, water, and fresh milk in the fridge not to mention the complimentary drink on arrival. Oh and after a long hike up Mount Snowdon the whirlpool bath was so needed. And thank you so much for the warm hat, never realized it would be so cold at the top. We will be recommending your B&B to all our friends. Jan you could not have taken better care of us and I look forward to our next visit, soon I hope. Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVH8, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Wendy,

You're very welcome, it was lovely to meet you & Jeff. You are so lucky the weather wasn't like it
is today - torrential rain - you wouldn't have seen much at all on Snowdon! Hope your foot is
making a good recovery & we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a wonderful experience! Thank you, Jan, for welcoming us with tea (and beer), a tour of your home and the back Castle wall, and for providing great advice as to where to eat dinner (The Black Boy's Welsh Pie was delicious). You served a lovely breakfast too. We will definitely recommend you and your B&B to our friends. Perhaps one day we will see you in our "neck of the woods" in Canada.
Trev and Rose-Ann

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVH8, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Trev & Rose-ann,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us, so glad your enjoyed your time in our town.
Definitely, if I'm ever lucky enough to visit your part of the world, I will drop in for B&B with you
and the lamas!

With best regards,

Yours sincerely,

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The b&b is beautiful and the people are lovely. They even saved us a parking space because we were arriving late. We really liked the room and it offered more for less than many other b&bs we've visited.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVH8, Owner at Victoria House B&B, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Victoria House, we're glad to hear you enjoyed
your time with us. We always endeavour to assist guests with parking, especially when it is their
first visit & they are not familiar with the town. Often the helpful sat nav/gps person doesn't recognise the one way streets & this can cause considerable confusion! I like to avoid this if at
all possible :-)

With kind regards,

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House B&B

Address: Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria House is a Grade II listed building dating back to 1897. Originally built as part of The North Wales Teacher Training College it was later converted into a hotel. Now rated a 5 star B&B by the Wales Tourist Board it is centrally located in a quiet street within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Backing onto the castle walls, promenade & medieval bath tower, it offers 4 comfortable & elegantly furnished double en suite rooms & a large, airy lounge with French doors to court yard. Breakfast is served in a classic Victorian room with original wooden floorboards & oak dining furniture. 5 star food hygiene rating. TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2012. Featured in Lonely Planet Magazine 2011 "Britain's best places to stay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Victoria House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House B&B Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.