We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Menai Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Menai Bank Hotel to your Saves list
Menai Bank Hotel
North Road, Caernarfon LL551BD, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

booked on wednesday and stayed on thursday and friday ,, overall very good,close to town centre,clean rooms,very friendly owners ,would stay here again when we are in caenarfon.breakfast was excellent

Room Tip: dont be put off by a room at the front,the main road might be close but noise was not a problem even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We like the fact that you think we offer value for money. One of the main comparison sites has us as best value in Caernarfon on price. Our September Offers are available now. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    44
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
55
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked the hotel last minute based on other traveller reviews. We were made very welcome by Patrick and Rachel. Our room was at the top of the hotel overlooking the Menai straits; the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in and the bath towels are huge. Our room was spotlessly clean. My only minus comment is that it would have been nice to have had a hand towel too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many thanks for the review. For future reference....
Extra towels are not a problem, just ask at Reception if needed. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Booked this at the (very) last minute. Extremely good service and a quiet, comfortable room. I wouldn't have gone for the breakfast - not because of the quality, but due to all the good eating places in town. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Delighted you found Caernarfon a good eating place. There are a few new additions this year and feedback is very good. Thank you for you review of Menai Bank and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at last minute booking as other hotel let us down when we arrived!! This hotel was simple and good! Our room was a bit dated, but we were very comfortable, the owner ensured that we were comfortable and our needs are met. They even have a fridge where we could store fresh cold food and drink. We had a sea view room which was nice.

Breakfast was good, you can have a choice of "buffet breakfast" (choice of cereals) or cooked English Breakfast.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing and recommending us. We are glad you enjoyed the service. For your information each Winter we "update" some of our "dated" rooms without trying to spoil the "dated look" . The building dates from around 1860.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rooms are a little shabby and dated but ours was comfortable enough and had a great view. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast spread was comprehensive and generous although the cooking of some of the elements left a little to be desired. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We hope you might email us some specifics that we can address regarding your comments on roooms you were in and the cooking. This should help us improve our standards further which we strive to do on an ongoing basis.Thanks for taking time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Such friendly service and situated perfectly in Caernarfon. Very comfortable rooms with every necessity, delicious breakfast in the morning, and just the nicest people running the place - perfect balance of attentive-ness and letting you get on with your holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed at the Menai Bank for 3 nights last weekend and I do not have one bad thing to say about the place. It's easy to find and extremely close to town (in fact, it was so windy I think I flew into town in under 5mins!). Patrick was brilliant, from the minute we arrived until the minute he waved us off - nothing was too much trouble for him at all and he made us feel so very welcome.

Breakfast was lovely - there is everything you could possibly ask for and Patrick makes a mean fry-up. There is tea and coffee (and lovely little biscuits) in the rooms. The bar is well stocked and open until the wee smalI hours. I cannot fault the hotel at all and if I'm ever in Caernafon again then I will be heading straight back here to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope your review will encourage others to choose us when trying to decide where to stay. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Menai Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Address: North Road, Caernarfon LL551BD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menai Bank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.