We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favourite went down the pan” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Feral Cat

Feral Cat
161 High Street, Bangor LL57 1NY, Wales
+44 1248 370445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 109 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: Bar, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An old favourite went down the pan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I used to love coming to this place! The food was always guaranteed to be nice and the staff were kinda familiar with myself and my boyfriend/friends. Their student discount was always fab too.

Since it has been rebranded as Feral Cat, it has went completely off the rails. When I went in we were given tiny menus which were covered in stains. The tables were dirty, sticky and covered in crumbs and the atmosphere was noticeably different. The food was tasted good though, and they served a few of my old favourites like the marinated chicken. The menu was smaller this time and there was a pretty dire choice of food.

The staff were just not very friendly and we didn't feel very welcome. Not a smile in the house and asking for our bill was quite icey.

The place has let itself go. I don't think I'll be returning.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    46
    33
    12
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Ate here over Easter with family. There were 9 of us, and found staff very attentive. The service was brilliant and the food very good. Everything on the menu is very reasonably priced for the huge portions you get!! I would definitely eat here again if returning to Bangor. The only slight negative is that inside could do with better lighting, felt quite dim as we were eating in the middle of the day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dog friendly bar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Excellent staff, both mine and my girlfriends meals were delicious. Dog allowed in the beer garden. Warm friendly atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food in Bangor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Really excellent food, good atmosphere, central location, attentive staff giving prompt service, definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok food, Staff need re-train”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I went to Feral Cat last week for a meal with my Fiance, we decided we were quite hungry so opted for 2 courses each. I had the mussels, while the mussels themselves and the sauce was very tasty, i would say around half of the mussels were already out of the shells, leaving a lot of shells empty, which is fine... but quite a few shells were also broken, a little annoying..... Fiance had the Chinese Chicken strips salad for starters... which was a generous portion and really tasty!
For Mains I had a Chicken Ceaser Salad (no anchovies) which was one of the best I've had, and my fiance had the beef burger with cheese and bacon. It came out looking quite sloppy, a lot of chips and so sign of salad garnish. He bit into his burger only to find it cooked (or not) RARE. He refused to make a scene and complain. He wasn't ill, so that's fine.
Lastly, the service..... while the waitresses are very pretty, maybe some training wouldn't go a miss? One waitress was taking orders without a notepad (classic mistake and predictably forgot an item we had ordered), while another would come to the table after we had ordered our food, BEFORE it was on the table to ask if we needed any sauces or anything... a little bizzare i think.
Anyway! Good Food, ok service, and GREAT cocktails will ensure we return..... maybe ask for the burger well done next time?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feral Cat also viewed

Bangor, Gwynedd
Bangor, Gwynedd
 

Been to Feral Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feral Cat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.