We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The keyhole to appreciating Snowdonia and Anglesey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangor Pier

Bangor Pier
Bangor, Wales
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 41 things to do in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The keyhole to appreciating Snowdonia and Anglesey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Pier is a fantastic place to take a moment to look at the breathtaking mountains. The little tea shop sells lovely scones with jam and hot chocolate great for warming up on cold days.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    62
    21
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty home baking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fab bakewell tart and famous cream tea. Lovely couple run the place making the best panad (Welsh for cuppa) in Wales!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“love it,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great views and really well maintained. a word of warning for the unprepared it can get windy down there (the first time i took a friend down there the strength of the wind surprised her - but to be fair on that occasion it was November). Not being far away I go as often as I can
There are nice little shops along the pier, but these are not always open. there is also crab fishing along the pier
A must go see, is the little tea rooms at the end of the pier - in my opinion the scones there are the best in the country (but be aware of the toilets - if you look down, in the ladies loo at least, you can see down into the sea)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We paid the 50p to get onto the pier and had a lovely walk to the end. Several little tourist holiday shops dotted along the pier and what looked like a cafe at the end but we didn't go in. Scenery beautiful and the day we went was quite windy so blew lots of cobwebs away!
Opportunity from crab fishing with kits available to buy. Not a lot else to do here but to walk, sit, contemplate and enjoy the scenery.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must if you visit Bangor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A very long pier with excellent views. The pier extends almost to Anglesey island and the Menai bridge is visible in the distance.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangor Pier also viewed

 

Been to Bangor Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangor Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.