We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Taverna Politis

Greek Taverna Politis
55 Holyhead Road | Upper Bangor, Bangor LL57 2HE, Wales
01248 354 991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 131 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: Bar, Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a very unusual and quirky place full of knocks and crannies the food is very good the owner didn't get his name but he is a right good character well worth a visit

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    5
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bochum, Germany
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Ask for George!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Had the pleasure of meeting the owner George. This guys knows and does everything from karate to cooking to you name it. He started the restaurant some 100 yrs ago and you can see from the unique style it has evolved over time. The interesting aspect of this place is the layout, it's not here or there but does offer some little alcoves where you can host a private party or function.

After looking at the place I was skeptical about the quality of the food, however I was real surprised when the chef came out to personally take my order. I had the Souvlaki and wasn't disappointed.

All in all this is a student city and naturally caters to students and alike. It's not a high-priced restaurant but it is a nice place if you're new to town as all the customers seem to be very loyal guests and will easily invite you into a conversation if open to chatting. And if they don't, then you can guarantee that George will be around to say hello and make the introductions for you!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chaotically Creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

From the moment we entered, we were immediately transported into the warmth and character the Greek has to offer.

The layout is so interesting with cosy little nooks we were spoilt for choice.

The food was delicious, beautifully presented by welcoming staff.
This experience left us very eager to return.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had a really good meal here on Saturday Night. Service was attentive, food was very good and house wine was very nice. Just cannot understand why more people do not go in Bangor because as said in previous reviews they are missing a hidden gem.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

"The Greek" is well known locally as a diverse meeting place. It is popular with students, holds many a varied music night, with a late licence and the food is great too. It is a quirky hidden gem with lots of nooks and crannies.

I had my wedding reception at the Greek last weekend. It was fantastic. Every one of our guests were overwhelmed by the quality of the food-one word-FANTASTIC!!!!

Thank you Vas and Iorgos for making our day so special.

So, if you want to improve your salsa, have a drink, have some traditional greek food, or meet up with friends, this is the place. Thank you xxx

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Taverna Politis also viewed

 
Bangor, Gwynedd
 

Been to Greek Taverna Politis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Taverna Politis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.