We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadfull” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Desi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Desi
6 Portland Road, Aberystwyth SY23 2NL, Wales (Formerly Aberystwyth)
01970611114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 127 restaurants in Aberystwyth
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Aberystwyth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dreadfull”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Over 1.5 hours to deliver. Most of the food cold apart from the raita (which should have been cold) which arrived warm and curdled. Tried the chicken tikka but didn't seem cooked so it went to the bin. Peshwari nan tasted plain and stale. Threw the rice out straight away (had green and black bits in) and the raita (as before, it was curdled. All in all I ate about 3 mouthfuls of £15.20 of food. Last time I ever order from there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    5
    0
    0
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Tasteless curry and stale popadoms!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Ordered a curry last night the curry had no taste, chicken was dry and consisted of 90% vegetables, then we get onto the popadoms.... It was inedible! It was 100% stale! Disgusted and will never eat there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very unreliable takeaway.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Started ordering around a year ago, the saver meals were cheap, tasted good and the service wasn't great but wasn't awful. However, over the past few months, the service has gone downhill (in a big way). On one order, our food was delivered an hour late and minus a starter. For this we were promised a free starter next time we ordered, however the next order arrived minus two starters!

We decided to give the restaurant one last chance and our order had not appeared two and a half hours after ordering (on a Monday night so not at a busy time). We rang at this point to see what was happening and they told us that they were very sorry for the delay (due to there not being any drivers available?), that it would arrive in 15 minutes and that they would give us extra food to compensate. 35 minutes later the food finally arrived (so 2 hours late and 3 hours after ordering), lukewarm. Also, not only had they not gave us extra food, they once again forgot a starter! We rang to complain and were offered money of our next order but we won't be ordering from there again.

To sum up - good food at cheap prices (for the saver meals at least) but the service means you'll be lucky to get your food on time with everything you ordered!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Absolutely awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

After waiting 2 hours for my order I rang to see where it was, they told me it was on its way. 25 minutes later I rang again and they told me the order was cancelled. After complaining they said they would call me back with a solution. They didn't. 25 minutes after, the food order arrived, wrong and cold. Will NEVER use again. Absolutely awful. Ordering at 20:30 and eating at 23:30 shouldn't be an option.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pathetic portions & indifferent staff!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lamb dhansak and lamb korma consisted of loads of sauce and only six pieces of meat in each dish!!

Called to complain and told that they "had been giving these size of portions for the past two years."

Definitely won't be back ..... v. poor value for money and indifferent service!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desi also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Desi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.