We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nanteos Mansion

Nanteos Mansion
Rhydyfelin, Aberystwyth SY23 4LU, Wales
+44 1970 600522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 132 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Price range: $23 - $59
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Wales,GB
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Truly stunning location, building and attention to detail.Amazing place and would advise any bride to be to consider here- definitely the most beautiful place for a wedding. The rooms are stunning- look forward to staying here for a special occasion:-)))

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic taste of luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A friend and I took champagne with an interesting afternoon tea in this beautifully restored mansion. From the moment when we were warmly greeted on arrival, having enjoyed the view as we drove down the winding drive, to when we left replete hours later, we were made to feel special. Requests to adapt the set tea menu were greeted with a 'can do' attitude; the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and we were given a guided tour of the hotel/restaurant. We will make a return visit and perhaps treat ourselves by staying overnight and having an evening meal in their restaurant - well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“looks beautiful but could do with a bit more flavour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

looks beautiful but could do with a bit more flavour, not the best but got it with the package so happy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Carys,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feed back on your recent stay at the mansion. I was delighted to read your review on the Hotel, facilities and service and thank you for your kind words. We strive at Nanteos to create a special place, where the customer feels like they are staying at a friends country house rather than just another country house.

I was naturally disappointed that you felt the food lacked flavour, as, along with presentation, this is something that our chef and his team holds as most important about the cuisine offered at the property. As you have not commented specifically on any particular dishes it is difficult to address this issue, however I would welcome you contacting me personally to discuss the dishes you ate.

Customer feedback is essential to us as it assist in the continual monitoring of all aspects of our business and I would like to once again thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back once more to the Mansion in the not to distant future.

With Regards

Mark Rawlings-Lloyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceredigion
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“special treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wonderful restoration, gives a lovely feeling of grandeur and a taste of past luxury . Special place to take friends for birthday lunch or tea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good food in beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had a very nice meal at the restaurant in the Nanteos mansion. The food was lovely and the service excellent.

A couple of things they owners / chef might like to consider. Some of the portions were on the large side - I had a bouillabaisse to start - that was definitely a lunch, if not a main supper course. My wife had the cheeseboard with no description of the cheeses and apparently no local cheeses - a real shame with such great cheeses produced in the Ceredigion area

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanteos Mansion also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Nanteos Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nanteos Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.