We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bendigedig! Super!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gwesty Cymru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gwesty Cymru to your Saves list
Gwesty Cymru
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Cymru / Wales
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bendigedig! Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Gwesty gorau Aberystwyth heb os nac oni! Aberystwyth's best hotel!

Great location! Rooms are modern, spacious, tasteful and comfortable. Superb food at breakfast, lunch and dinner - and a very warm Welsh welcome! Great spot to sit and watch the world go by! Would return tomorrow if I had the chance!

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the seafront but I wasn't troubled by outside noise during my stay. Maybe r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    47
    3
    8
    2
See reviews for
33
192
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anderslov, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very nice hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant is very good and the breakfast equally so. Free wi-fi could do with a stronger signal as it nearly dies when closing the door to the room.Apart from that, highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed for one night in August in the Green room. A small room, but well appointed but hotter than the Sahara! The window was closed shut on arrival but opening it didn't seem to make much difference. There were two fans in the room and we had one of them going all night but we were still BOILING! The only way to cool the room was to prop open the door with a chair so the air could circulate from below, but you can hardly leave it like this all night. Be warned, this room is also was positioned over the kitchen so there was an industrial fan going early morning for breakfast, lunchtime until around 3.30 and then again in the evening. It was switched off at 10 but when it was going, relaxing it was not. There were also builders on scaffolding directly opposite our window. They had a fantastic view as they could look right in! They worked until around 7 on friday and started early on saturday. These guys were keen! Whilst I appreciate this was not the fault of the hotel, our stay was far from relaxing...and this is NOT a cheap place to stay! On the upside, the staff were lovely and the food in the restaurant delicious.

Room Tip: The Green room is small with kitchen fan noise. Choose another room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great hotel, clean with great sea view from room one, superb walk in shower and friendly helpful staff! They even stored my wife's insulin in a fridge. Great base to explore west Wales from. Excellent breakfast. Will definitely return to this hotel for another break.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We only had one night in the Cymru, but really enjoyed it.
The room was cosy and very well appointed with a modern shower and bathroom. We had a room at the back, so no sea view, but we knew that when we booked. Also no dedicated parking, but that was OK too.. Friendly and efficient staff on reception and in the restaurant.
The weather was fabulous, and we sat outside at the front, and the food was so good, we had three courses! Lovely Welsh Summer beer to go with it. The chef knows how to cook fresh tasty and well presented dishes, and the same goes for the splendid Welsh breakfast (which included my favourite Laver bread)
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in room 4 overlooking the sea. You can watch the sun go down on two comfy chairs in the bay, wonderful. The staff are very friendly. The room was showing a few signs of wear compared to the web site but only minor. Our small gripe (but the room was £135 per night) was the house keeping, the blinds in the bathroom were dusty, the bins were not always emptied and tea/coffee/toilet rolls not always replaced. On a better note the restaurant is amazing both in the evening and at breakfast time.
The students had gone home for the summer and although our room overlooked the outside eating area we had no problem with noise or getting to sleep.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Modern guesthouse with very high spec rooms and an amazing breakfast right on the sea front with lovely sea views. Good service. I couldn't ask for any more of a B&B/guesthouse and its probably the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gwesty Cymru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Cymru

Address: 19 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2AZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberystwyth
#1 Family Hotel in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gwesty Cymru 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gwesty Cymru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Cymru Aberystwyth, Wales
Gwesty Cymru Hotel Aberystwyth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gwesty Cymru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.