We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Parc-y-Llyn, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable, modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

This is a fairly new hotel by Aberystwyth standards, and it is outside the town near Llanbadarn (longish walking distance into town). Although it looks like a travel lodge it is independent. It is quite different in character from the more traditional Aberystwyth seafront hotel, and it's not somewhere you'd stay for the views, but it is particularly well placed for business visitors, with ample parking. We stayed at short notice at a very busy time with our then 3 year old child. No complaints at all, comfortable room (though why the warning about not cleaning shoes with the towels? bitter experience?) Food available throughout the day, breakfast was good, 3 year old was made welcome.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, good breakfast, parking
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    65
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
42
41
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lee-On-The-Solent, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

Stayed 4 nights half board with a coach party of 46. This family run hotel treated us excellently, no complaints from anyone. The food was of superb quality and there was far too much of it!
The rooms were of very good standard, plenty of eveything including the hot drink supplies in the rooms.
The family told us they had just purchased the redundant football field at the rear and were planning to extend the hotel and build a swimming pool, sauna etc.
A couple of minor issues about blown light bulbs and a leaking toilet but everyone agreed they would readily stay here again. Our thanks to the staff who made it very enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Family run with great food.
  • Disliked — lack of maintenance
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

My boyfriend and I booked to stay at the Parc Lodge for a reunion with some of our university friends, and as we left it too late to booked into one of the many B&B’s in town they were scattered across we had to choose a less central location.

We originally booked 2 nights (Fri and Sat) on the weekend £100 offer, which we thought was great value for 2 of us. Having looked at the train times for the Sunday and seeing that due to engineering our usual 6 hour journey would become 8 or 9, we decided to stay until the Monday, and to our surprise were allowed the 3rd night for an extra £50 (instead of the normal £89).

After arriving at the Lodge after a long journey up from London, we were pleasantly surprised by the light and airy reception, and were really pleased with out room. It was spotlessly clean, with great tea and coffee facilities, and a bathroom that look new!

The bed was really comfy; the breakfasts were great, and the staff very helpful and friendly.

When we return to Aber for future re-unions I will most certainly book the Parc Lodge again – in fact a couple of our friends who booked into a dingy B&B (and paid more than us!) actually moved to the Lodge after their first night, and will certainly be back again too!

All in all, I think it’s worth the couple of minute cab journey out of town (and the sacrifice of a nice view), to stay somewhere clean and comfortable, as although Aber is a lovely town, most of the accommodation in the centre does leave a lot to be desired!

  • Liked — Clean, comfy, quiet! (A rareity in aber)
  • Disliked — Lovely view of McDonalds, a bit out of town.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

We spent 3 nights here. My husband and one of his collegues was graduating from the university of Aberystwyth. That was 4 adults a 4 year old a 1 year old and our 6 week old baby daughter. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good and they seem to get a lot of repeat business. Only problem we had was the dinner dance they held was in a marquee at the back of the hotel. The music was loud and kept us awake. We were offered a room change but with a 4 year old and a very small baby and all the associated luggage it was easier to stay put. The music did stop as promised at 1.30. If we didn't have the children with us we would probably been up til then. We would stay there again and hopefully it would stop raining! Never stopped during our visit!

  • Liked — The staff are all so nice
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

I have stayed in many hotels over the last 7 years but this is the only one i have felt compelled to review.

1st impressions;
The Hotel overlooks the very busy and very industrious Aberystwyth - Cardigan road (A467), the location makes it an ideal base from which to tour the local MacDonalds, Morrisons or the nearby housing association estate that overlooks the car park which, incidentally is frequented by the 'local' hoddies who like to play kerb ball at the entrance.

The hotel;
I was greeted by some very friendly staff who were obviously immune to the deep fat fumes that their kitchen or the MacDonalds or both were eminating, the girl at the counter pointed me to my room which was on the ground floor with a fantastic view of the traffic building up at the roundabout of the A467, the windows of the ground floor room to which i was allocated wouldn't lock so with a smile the receptionist gave me the key to another room, unfortunately this room was only overlooking the MacDonalds drive through, alas you can't have it all i thought.
When given the room upstairs i thought a nice touch was to let the residents know that the towels are not for polishing shoes, they are for drying oneself, (a little memorandum i shall pass onto the Marriott chain when I next stay there) and the smell of airfreshener that had been used to dispel the delicate almost cat like smell took me right back to my pre-teens as it reminded me of Brut33.

The receptionist was a little startled when i told her i wouldn't be staying and she assured me that my card wouldn't be debited as someone would call within the hour to confirm that point, 23 hours later and still no call.

All in all when you take into account these factors:
A467
Roundabout
MacDonalds drive through
ground floor window that doesn't lock
Smell of chips throughout
Smell of Brut / cat (receptionist assured me that animals weren't allowed)
Local chavs
No CCTV on the car park (as i could see)

You will understand why i will never be seen on that plot of land again.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILTON KEYNES
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

A modern family owned hotel operating in the style of the national budget chains which have yet to reach West Wales. Just about one mile inland, adjacent to a Macdonalds and a Morrisons supermarket, some rooms have distant views of relaxing hill scenery.

Weddings and conference bookings are a major focus and there is a 160 plus seater restaurant and bar area with open plan kitchen.

The hotel is scrupulously clean throughout with friendly staff offering a warm welcome - bedrooms are generally a little bigger than the chain format.

Breakfast is generous with a buffet that is frequently replenished. Food service remains available throughout the day until 22:00 and prices for evening meals give good value.

Much higher in standard than the sea-front hotels which are generally rather neglected and seedy.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, Worcestershire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

Arrived 'On Spec' at this hotel (on 25/06/06) to find them fully booked because of a wedding. The whole staff went out of their way to see that we were able to freshen up and have a meal with friends who were pre booked. More than that, the receptionist arranged alternative accomadation for us, arranged for us to be expected late in the evening, sorted transport so that we could leave our open cars at the Aber. Park, where they would be more secure and even arranged for us to be collected the following morning and returned to the hotel to pick up our cars. Then unbelievably she refused payment or even a tip!!!
I have not stayed at this Hotel, but I surely will. Exceptionall treatment. Thank You.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel

Address: Parc-y-Llyn, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel. We have 36 Luxury Bedrooms, Lounge & Conference Room, fully Licensed Cafe Bar & Restaurant and 100 parking spaces. Whether it's for business or a place to relax and unwind, you'll find our facilities and dedicated staff second to none. Our philosophy is simple: commitment to provide the very best traditional cuisine and facilities where guests enjoy a dedicated professional service for the best value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberystwyth Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.