We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Homely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Antaron Hotel

Plas Antaron Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plas Antaron Hotel to your Saves list
Plas Antaron Hotel
Southgate, Aberystwyth SY23 1SF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Hereford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Homely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Exceptionally clean and well presented, situated just over a mile from the centre of Aberystwyth the room was spacious warm and very comfortable a shower with lashings of hot water, tea & coffee making facility & a TV.
Breakfast was served between 8 & 9 with full English (very Tasty) a choice of cereals & juices
tea or coffee.
One night was not enough we will have to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
25
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed overnight as travelling north the following day. Arrived just after 6 on weekday evening. Plenty of parking and very easy to find, on the main road into Aberystwyth from the south.
Quiet, and gentleman who welcomed me was friendly. The room (room 5 I think) was big enough for one and had good en suite. The decor in the room and throughout the hotel is slightly dated and a but worn in places but everything works so can't complain for a business trip. Free wifi and room facilities include tea and television.
Breakfast is an issue as mentioned by others. Only available 8-9 which is not much use if you have to leave before 8. I had mentioned this and was offered a buffet type breakfast (cereals and fruit) at £5 off the room price, but due to miscommunication didn't get breakfast as no milk was left out. But as mentioned, crossed wires.
In short, great budget stay. Not ideal for business trip due to late breakfast and I guess only an hour slot could be a pain for holiday stays also. But good clean room and good location / parking etc. At £50 pppn not bad compared to other hotels in Aber.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms are spacious and very clean, staff and owners very friendly and welcoming, breakfast really good and could not fault this hotel in any way and will be looking forward to staying here again and would recommend anyone to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night while in the area with my sister. We both had double rooms. I had room 7 which was large in size with a comfortable double bed and en suite facilities. The breakfast is served between 8 & 9 with your room number on your table. Plenty to eat, cereal,fruit,juice and a full English with toast. Wifi throughout the hotel (reception give you the code to access it). My sister had room 8 which from the outside looked like a cupboard with a half sized door but the room was only slightly smaller than mine. Friendly staff. Hotel has plenty of parking and is located about 5 mins drive from the town centre and sea front. Value for money and would use the hotel again if in the area

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

stayed here for a 2 nite break at the end of August - we had room no 10 which was light and airy and clean. Breakfast was early but this encouraged you to get up and get out and do things - the breakfast itself was delicious - all freshly cooked and super tasty. The waitress was very friendly and service was quick. The hotel may lack a bit of the personal showing to your room and a bit about where you are etc but all in all this was a good value for money place to stay and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are two couples travelling and we arrived at the Plas Antaron after a long drive. We were looking forward to a drink and a meal but was told that the bar and restaurant would not be opening tonight which was a Saturday night. So we asked where could we get a drink and a meal and were told to just drive into the town and we would find numerous places. We asked for a recommendation and was told to drive into town there was heaps of places. This welcome put us off the Hotel. The rooms are clean and ideal, just the unwelcoming person at the front desk. In the morning the tables were arranged with your room number for breakfast, do not sit at the wrong table, they are very regimented. If you are looking for a welcoming place with friendly staff this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a clean room, nice bed and stick to rules and regulations, this is an ideal place. Unfortunately we were looking for a friendly place that we could enjoy a drink and meal and feel welcome and find out about the town but with this welcome we left the next morning and will not be returning. Go some where else where you will be welcome and not feel like they are doing you a favour by renting you a room for the night. There are a lot better hotels that will make you welcome.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night first week of September. We chose the hotel as it had ample parking which is at a premium for most B and B's and hotels in Aberystwyth. The hotel is slightly out of the town but walkable (about a 20 minute walk) and conveniently located on the road into Aberystwyth when approaching from Aberaeron.

If your idea of a hotel is a modern one with modern décor then this won't be for you. The décor is quite dated in a way but it had character and I liked that. I spend far too much time staying in budget hotels where the rooms look exactly the same as a hotel I stayed in 100 miles away. We stayed in Room 11 which is a twin room. It had a double bed and a single bed in it. It was a good size room but no view at all as it was in the centre part of the building. Tea and Coffee making facilities available and some very nice complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. Again the décor dated but it was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked and plenty of choice. Very pleasant waitress.

Good hotel .........4 star rating for a few minor points. No biscuits to go with the tea and coffee (which is a nice touch after a long journey) and there was only one towel in the bathroom between two of us (so worth taking your own although no doubt you could ask for some more). No hairdryer either so again take your own. Minor points but a nice hotel, would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11. A good sized twin room with a double bed and a single bed. No view though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Antaron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Antaron Hotel

Address: Southgate, Aberystwyth SY23 1SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aberystwyth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aberystwyth
#4 Family Hotel in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in mid Wales the Plas Antaron Hotel is an ideal base for exploring North, South, East and West Wales. Take full advantage of what the immediate area has to offer, whether its the delights of a Victorian holiday resort, sailing, wind-surfing, pony-trekking, coarse and sea fishing, golf, bird watching, walking or general sight-seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Plas Antaron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Antaron Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Antaron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.