We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, comfortable, clean & friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Antaron Hotel

Plas Antaron Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plas Antaron Hotel to your Saves list
Plas Antaron Hotel
Southgate, Aberystwyth SY23 1SF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Uckfield
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Warm, comfortable, clean & friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed for just one night when collecting my daughter from uni. Even though it was May it was cold outside and I was delighted to find that, when I turned on the radiator in my room, it soon warmed up. Lots of hotels would have turned the heating off long before May! The room was clean and comfortable with a view over the car park and road to the distant hills. The double glazing kept the noise out and I slept well. There are plenty of spaces in the car park and although a little way from the town centre I shall be staying again. The owners and staff were all very friendly and there was a tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
28
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A clean and comfortable room and I got an excellent nights sleep. The room was a good size with en-suite shower room, which was not huge but plenty big enough. I had a veru good full breakfast in thge morning.
Overall a very good experience and would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel and was most impressed. The hotel was clean and comfortable and my room was a good size. Bathroom with shower only (just what I needed) was small but not at all poky. The breakfast was very good indeed. No evening meal was available but the hotel's owner recommended a number of restaurants in Aberystwyth and the recommendation was spot on. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night when I visited on business.

Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Owners were very helpful and a small bar will serve limited drinks during the evening but NO evening meal available which was disappointing although I knew when I booked that this was the case.

Plenty of car parking spaces and WiFi is free and very good.

Within easy access of Aberystwyth town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for WiFi code which you need to enable you to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The welcome was good and the room was very nice and if you looked carefully because the sun was glinting on it you could see the sea The bathroom was a good size and as has been said before it is all spotless. The breakfast was excellent and served with a cheery smile and efficiency - not the usual I don;t want to be here attitude The parking was perfect and it just can't be faulted.
You do really need to drive in to town as it is a steep hill bit that really was the only downside
Thank you

Room Tip: Room 10 is a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Looking at some of the more negative reviews we were expecting a pokey little room. In fact the room was large with nice views. The bathroom (with bath) was more than adequate. Extra pillows available in a built in cupboard. TV and internet (free) worked fine. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast. The staff were helpful and efficient. Free parking another plus. In all.... nothing to moan about except perhaps the rather early check out time. (10 am).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a one night stay on Saturday 16th February. Hotel foyer is lovely, nice staircase up to the rooms. The room was quite nice, a bit small maybe for a double room, but spotlessly clean. It would have been a bit too small I think if we had been staying longer. The en suite was spotless, although there was a hole in the ceiling that was covered up with tissue paper!
Breakfast, was between 8 and 9am, and as someone else said, you have to sit at the table which matches your room number. When we were shown to the table, I hesitated before sitting down, as I thought the place mats were covered in crumbs, however it was just scratches on them!. Waitress then said, "Full English, yea?", didn't tell us we could chop and change or we could have an alternative if we had wanted.
All in all, not too bad, but personally think that £70 is very expensive for what we got. And the fact that it's 5 minutes outside of Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Antaron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Antaron Hotel

Address: Southgate, Aberystwyth SY23 1SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in mid Wales the Plas Antaron Hotel is an ideal base for exploring North, South, East and West Wales. Take full advantage of what the immediate area has to offer, whether its the delights of a Victorian holiday resort, sailing, wind-surfing, pony-trekking, coarse and sea fishing, golf, bird watching, walking or general sight-seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Plas Antaron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Antaron Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Antaron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.