We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Starling Cloud

The Starling Cloud
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Starling Cloud to your Saves list
The Starling Cloud
Parc-y-Llyn | Boulevard St Brieuc, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Child friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited for lunch and were very impressed with the place.
The whole area was clean and tidy and the staff pleasant and helpful.
There is a indoor area to keep the little ones happy or an outdoor play area to explore whilst waiting for the food to arrive
The food was excellent
We shall definately return

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    41
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
22
38
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We chose The starling Cloud because it looked like one of the only decent hotels in the area that weren't fully booked at short notice.
It's a lot like your standard budget chain (but a bit nicer). We went for a family room as there were two of us, mother & daughter visiting for a university open day.
When we were booking we explained we needed a room with two beds and the family room was organised. It consists of a double sofa bed type thing and a standard double. We were disappointed when we arrived to find that the sofa bed had not been 'made up' and we had to ring reception to get them to sort it. Didn't mind too much, not a big problem, but worth a mention.

It's a great base for Aberystwyth but we found that we didn't walk into town much, we used the car! This is because it was raining very heavily both days and we did not fancy a walk in the rain. To explain the walk to anyone that hasn't been, I'd say it was 10/15 minutes and quite pleasant. However, I'd prefer to use the car as we are lazy and there's some great free parking in town.

The room was clean and modern with basic amenities like a kettle. Don't expect sea views but the hotel doesn't claim to have them so no problems there. Nice deep bath got the thumbs up from us.
I found my sofa bed very comfortable indeed with nice clean bedding. My mum, on the other hand, said her double bed (although very clean) was very firm and hard! She slept though, so can't have been that bad.

The hotel is a 30 second walk from the restaurant/pub so if you're stuck for somewhere to eat on a night like we were, it's worth a shot.

Breakfast was lovely - there's a table with things like milk, juice, cereal. Then you get your hot breakfast menu. There's the usual cooked breakfast items & you pick and choose to create your own. You can also request fresh croissants and porridge. A nice touch is you can choose how you'd like your eggs. I really enjoyed the breakfast but it took a bit too long to come. It was lovely though.

We'd stay here again, it's a great base for aber and the breakfast was top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a Marstons Chain Hotel attached to the Starling Cloud Public House in Aberystwyth. If you just drive by the accommodation building you will see a non descript building that won't catch your eye at all but it is well worth a second glance.

This is a new build that has only been open for six months or so. The accommodation is much on a par with a Premier Inn.....with a few added touches that takes it over and above. It is a small hotel. You check in via the adjoining Starling Cloud. Check in was prompt, we paid on arrival and we were given our card that gained us access to the adjoining accommodation.

First Impressions were very good. The room was pretty much laid out as you would expect a Premier Inn to be ( most of us have stayed at a PI on our travels). The décor was better though, there were complimentary biscuits and complimentary water.......and hot chocolate and Ovaltine as well. The pillows were really comfortable (and there were two spare with clean pillow cases on as well). Plenty of towels, hairdryer etc. As you would expect of a new build it was also spotlessly clean. It had heating for the winter and air con for hotter weather. We had a very comfortable nights stay. No noise at all as the accommodation is set back from the pub.

The menu in the Starling Cloud (Marstons Pub) is very good.....and make sure you check out the specials as well. They had a lovely log fire there this weekend and the evening meal we had was faultless. Breakfast was really good as well. Help yourself to fruit juice/cereals/yogurt/fruit....but I like the fact you didn't need to worry about coffee machines/toasters.......Tea/Coffee is served to you at your table (lovely fresh coffee) as is your breakfast........and I loved the toast. Not a bog standard slice of bread at all but a lovely chunk of toasted batch bread that the butter just melted on.......wonderful!

It is about a 20 minute walk from the shops and a 30 minute walk to the sea front. The pub/hotel is on a retail park just outside of the town. Highly recommended and we will definitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: I would say all rooms are exactly the same.......you can't go wrong really
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I like a firm bed, but the bed in room 22 is more like a mortician slab. The room and facilities were fine, the breakfast next morning was excellent as were the staff. Would stay again, maybe try another bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have eaten several times here since it opened & have been more than pleased with everything. Splendid, varied menu, cleanliness, staff & services. Cannot honestly be negative about anything. Always felt welcome, & staff are efficient without being intrusive. Food excellent & beautifully cooked. Can highly recommend this restaurant to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked direct on the the hotel website for one night.Had a family room which included breakfast for £79.95.You check in at the restaurant and get a keycard for your room which is in a separate building.Our room was basic with a double bed and a sofa bed.There were tea/coffee facilities with biscuits and 3 bottles of water which I thought was an added bonus.The room was clean enough, but the bathroom not to such a good standard.The bathroom has liquid soap/shower dispenser and an over head fixed shower which was good but not a favourite of mine.
As it was raining on the day we arrived, we decided just to have an evening meal in the restaurant. Service was quick, but the food was mediocre.I had pate to start which was very runny.We did have a 20% reduction in our food bill as I had my email confirmation with me, but wouldn't choose to eat here again.
We had breakfast included in the price which was ok.You could help yourself to cereals/fruit juice etc.If you want a croissant or porridge you need to request these.Good job I ordered our croissants straight away as they take a lot of time to arrive.The same applies to cooked breakfast, so as we were a bit pushed for time, it was a bit dissapointing to have to wait a long time.I'd ordered scrambled egg with my breakfast which was inedible, very rubbery and unappetising.I 'd also asked for toast which I didn't get, but as we were in a rush, didn't bother asking for it again.The staff however were very pleasant and polite.
If I were to stay in this area again, I would probably look elsewhere first because of the points that I've mentioned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked 3 doubles for my family attending a wedding in aberystwith, they aloud us to have our rooms 3 hours early to freshen up and change, rooms were lovely n modern with tv, tea & coffee facilities.the full breakfast was lush the following day,with cereals fresh juices & fruit, a really nice stay good value for money, thanks to all the staff, very helpful & polite,

Room Tip: Good value for money, enjoyed my one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Starling Cloud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Starling Cloud

Address: Parc-y-Llyn | Boulevard St Brieuc, Aberystwyth SY23 3TL , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Starling Cloud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Starling Cloud Aberystwyth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Starling Cloud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.