We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, coffee and cake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MG's

MG's
6 Chalybeate Street, Aberystwyth, Wales
+44 1970 625624
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 131 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Our 5 star food hygiene rated Cafe has been a part of the Aberystwyth cafe scene since 2004 when we operated from premises in Cambrian Place before moving to 26 Chalybeate St where we established a reputation for great coffee and excellent service. Expansion took us to our current location at 6 Chalybeate St in Dec 2012. The new premises has 60 covers and enables MG's to bring our excellent service, coffee and food to a wider customer base. MG's is a truly independent and local business with an ethos of buying fresh produce locally and providing a Welsh biased menu with delights such as Welsh Rarebit, Cawl and Glamorgan Sausages. We use meat from the famous and award winning Rob Rattray's butcher (next door) and are developing a reputation for our MG's Burger as well as Gails cheese and potato pie.. All our coffee is ethically sourced and we only use the very best Arabcia beans from Colombia.At the heart of MG's is a customer service ethos that always puts the customer at the heart of everything we do. Customer comments, good and bad are positively encouraged to ensure MG's is always at the leading edge of delivering great customer service.MG's has disabled toilet facilities as well as baby changing and high chairs available.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, coffee and cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having tried a number of other cafes in Aberystwyth, I must say this is the best by far. We headed in for a quick coffee to get out of the rain but then decided to stay for lunch. The food was superb, plenty to choose from, great portion sizes and more importantly arrived prompt & hot. To finish we had a cake to share and it was one of the nicest I've had within the town. The staff were very friendly and we will be definitely be heading back for more cake soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    10
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chicken pie and Celt lager, say no more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went tonight and had the chicken and leek pie from specials. Chunky pieces of chicken, puff pastry excellent. As a pie lover this was one of the best. Also had a pint of Celt lager which has a slight cider flavour and exceedingly quaffable. Finished off with the lemon meringue pie (another of my favourites), say no more.....
Service was excellent and prices affordable.
The pizzas also looked good, save that for another visit (providing the chicken pie is not on the specials list!!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samanchris, Owner at MG's, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Our Celt lager is made here in Wales and one of the better ones i have tasted. Lots more on our specials board as well as our homemade pizzas. I will pass on your comments to the MG's team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best In Aber!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch whilst on a short break in the area. I was pleasantly surprised by the interior, which was cosmopolitan yet homely. The food was very good, service attentive, and I was impressed by the emphasis on using local produce wherever possible. Will definitely be back next time I'm over that neck of the woods..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere great food :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Such a nice cafe- had a really warm wake up and the food was delicious! Couldn't resist a cake before heading off either :) will be going back for pizza soon!

Thanks MGs xx

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samanchris, Owner at MG's, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are please you enjoyed your visit. We are always changing our specials board and adding new dishes for our customers to try. Watch out for our "suggest a special" box where you can request your favourite if you are a regular visitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant decor but poor menu.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Been there once, not particularly keen on going back. The prices are decidedly higher than in other Aberystwyth cafes but the food quality not as good. Also, the menu lacks variety. It looks posh inside the cafe, but can get uncomfortable and loud when more people are in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samanchris, Owner at MG's, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi Alex. Sorry to hear you we're disappointed and thought our menu was limited. Our menu occupies 3 A4' s including drinks with a Welsh feel throughout. We do have a daily specials board that supplements our core menu ( it is on our website as well). Our current board has 12 items on and changes daily. Whilst we are not the cheapest in Aber we are competitive against our peers. It can get a bit noisy, but that is a consequence of being busy. Glad you liked the decor though. If you have any suggestions for menu items we have introduced a "suggest a special" box for customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MG's also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to MG's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MG's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.