We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value right in town - but beware of the noise...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harry's Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harry's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Aberystwyth
Melbourne
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good value right in town - but beware of the noise...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Stayed at Harry's on a 2-night single room deal for 80 UKP, so very good value in Aber. Room was right at the top of the hotel - fairly small, but clean, modern and no complaints at the price. Despite being a very warm weekend, the heating was on and the room was stifling hot and remained so even when the radiator was turned off.

The fairly recent conversion of the ground floor into an Irish pub has its pros and cons. In the daytime (and for breakfast), it's quite a stylish cafe/bar atmosphere with a good range of drinks at good prices. Come the evening though and it's another matter altogether, seemingly a favourite of the student crowd and having a very loud live band many nights a week. The noise travels throughout the hotel, so don't expect a good night's sleep on band nights with Saturday night being the worst with a 2am close.

Breakfast was pretty good fare, cooked to order in the pub restaurant area. Coffee/tea is instant, help yourself style, but no worries at this class of hotel really.

So, overall, Harry's offers good value in a top location so close to everything in Aber (don't rely on being able to park in the rear carpark as it's often full or blocked in), but the Irish pub part of the deal will not be for everyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    47
    28
    15
    19
See reviews for
9
55
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
west yorks
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We have stayed at Harrys on many previous visits to Aberystwyth but not since the refurbishment of the bar area and addition of live music until 1am.Myself and and an 11 year old child were in Room 18 directly above the bar and live band and we got NO sleep until well after 2am, The noise was indescribable. Upon checkout we complained and without hesitation our roomrate was reduced to £14 (the cost of 2 breakfasts!). I told the male receptionist that Room 18 should not be used at it's clearly impossible to market it as a BEDroom - more like an extension of the bar. He just shrugged - I would guess he hears this all the time. What a shame the new bar has ruined this once lovely hotel. We will not stay again

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Grange-over-sands, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We arrived to find there was no easy parking close to the hotel. The room was Ok but had a broken double glazing pane and dirty marks(which we easliy cleaned) on the walls. The bathroom light didn't work on the second night. The breakfast next day was a disaster due to sever lack of staff. We didn't have time to wait for the breakfast in the end. There were no menus on the tables or in the rooms and generally things were not as they should be- we had to find our own plates etc. (though the only member of staff working was doing her best!) On reception a 'member of staff' was childminding rather than working adn could have helped ease the pressure on the dining room. Our bed was not made during the intervening day either. It was relatively cheap but obviously didn't deliver what was promised!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanadianTravelloso
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Ok hotel is Aberystwyth. The rooms were old with wobbly floors, but were very clean and the bathrooms were modern. One room had a table overlooking the street which was cute, but the bed was lopsided. The pub downstairs was decent with a great staff. Breakfast was included with the price of the hotel and was tasty. However, there was no lift and the stairs were a problem.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, West Midlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

The check-in was quick and simple and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean and tidy and the shower was excellent. There was tea in the room on arrival which was nice after our journey.
When reading other reviews before booking I noticed that some people had mentioned experiencing a lot of noise from the bar/street. I was concerned but thankfully this wasn't a problem during our stay. We were situated on the third floor so we couldn't hear anything from the bar, though there was some noise from the street but this is to be expected because of the students on a friday and saturday night and it didn't disturb our sleep.
The location of the hotel was great - we travelled by train and the hotel was conveniently only a couple of minutes walk from the station. The beach was also only a couple of minutes in the opposite direction.
Only one negative I would say was the payment on check-out. I presumed we had already paid a deposit because I had given my credit card details when booking online, but the odd thing was they didn't take any money which we found confusing as did other customers checking out at the same time as us.
Overall though we had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap, convient place to stay in Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Don't stay here. That's all I can say.
The room I had was filthy to be honest - really really dirty with unspecified stains on the walls. It was also very hot but if you opened the windows you got main road noise then as the room was directly above the doors to the pub below - waft upon waft of cigarette smoke from the outside smokers. And the noise from the outside drinkers.
Food was dire.
Don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Having spent a few weeks working in "Aber", we stayed for a majority of the time in Harrys. The rooms were adequate, but seemed to be a little under cared for on a daily basis !.

The bar area and food however were a completely different matter. Ive never felt compelled to go back to a hotel and thank the bar staff personally for their friendlines, and sociability.

I would like to extend my thanks to Lou, and especially to Oliver Kelly for making us feel welcome. The sociability of the bar staff is second to none.

The food, (while some of it may come from the freezer) is tasty and plentiful. I have never been in an establishment where the chef has made a conscious effort to come and socialise with customers at quiet times ( Thank you Matt ).

The overall result, ( we were there for a few weeks ), was of a very friendly place, that resulted in some very good friendships being formed. Dont judge Harrys on the things it lacks, judge it on the way you are treated while you are there. I genuinely felt welcome every time I went to the bar and wouldnt hesitate returning in the future.

The rooms lack finesse, but the time you spend in them is minimal. They are however, clen and functional. More attention could be paid to the details, but generally, things were ok.

ratings.....

Hotel 7/10
Food 8/10
Staff 10/10 ( thank to Lou, Bobby and especially to Oliver for making us feel welcome ) :)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harry's Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.