We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money, comfy bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harry's Hotel to your Saves list
Harry's Hotel
40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Staffordshire, UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good for the money, comfy bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

For what we paid I thought we got really good value. Very spacious double room which had been fairly recently decorated to maintain original features. A very very comfortable bed - better than ours at home, I wish I could have brought it back with me! Free parking at the rear of the building, centrally located. We didn't personally experience any issues with noise from outside but I can imagine you might.
Good breakfast, plenty of it and I thought really tasty.
No, it's not a posh hotel, and no it's not posh hotel money. You can spend more in town, and you can get definitely get better - but it works for me.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    62
    34
    15
    19
See reviews for
14
76
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delph, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Nice big light and airy room but rather warm. This highlighted the main problem which was that the sash window didn't work. I had to prop the window open with a chair to get some air. Comfortable bed and a good night's sleep. Not noisy but I visited right at the end of term so few students about. Good value for money - I had booked as the cheapest available for a one night stay and was pleased with my decision. Very good scrambled eggs at breakfast. Same problem as on my last stay at a different Aberystwyth hotel - The BBC didn't work on the TV. Luckily the footie on ITV. My biggest grumble is that I left my charger and rang the same day to ask about it. Never got a phone call back.

Room Tip: Think about if you want to be on a Main Street at the front and stairs no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Complaints about seagulls??.......ummm......you're at the coast and I'm pretty sure the hotel has no say the seagulls do!

Anyway, we spent 2 lovely nights in the deluxe room on the first floor and it was perfect. The room was clean, spacious, pleasantly decorated with everything you'd expect and need. There was a large comfortable bed which we slept fantastic in. The bathroom was modern and clean. The towels and linen immaculate. The breakfast was really good and the staff were friendly and willing to accommodate our every need. I had a meal of roast beef ciabatta with rocket and horse radish sauce with chips and salad with balsamic dressing for less than 6 quid. Delicious and a Bargain. The room was a touch warm and you couldn't really leave the window open overnight whilst you slept because of the traffic/drunken student noise but to be honest this didn't overly effect us because we were out late anyway. If you can't beat them join them!! This problem could probably be avoided by perhaps requesting a fan for the room.Overall a fantastic stay and we will definitely be visiting again. Thanks very much Harry's :-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you want the Ritz then go somewhere else. If you want a hotel with a welcoming approach, value for money, clean and great breakfast then book this hotel. Yes there is some noise but this is a busy pub on a main road so what do you expect !
The rooms we had were clean and well equipped although a little difficult to find. The floors do slope slightly but we found this amusing and quite quirky.
The breakfast is big and of a good standard. The service at breakfast was very good with the lady serving us being very chatty and friendly. Nothing was a trouble to her and I hope if she has a boss they read this. Having a son at uni in Aber means we will be back in Sept and i hope to stay there again. thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A business trip brought me to Harry's. I booked two single rooms for myself and a colleague. My first surprise was that upon arrival we only had one room. Thankfully this was sorted out and we were given one single and one double. The story could have ended there if the staff had been more competent. However, the next day when returning to my room, I couldn't open the door. To cut a stupid story short, my things had been removed to another room without my prior permission and my door card had been activated. In the process, a young manager rudely informed me that it was all my fault. I wouldn't have minded, but I had remained polite and patient throughout.
Beyond this, the rooms were ok, but nothing special. In. The second room (19, top floor) the window was plastered with seagull and pigeon droppings. One important thing to note is that the so-called car park is a very tight back alley that can just about accomodate 6 or 7 cars. Manouvering is tough and spaces are limited so you need to be lucky. Also, the cars get dive-bombed by seagulls, so after one night you might find your car in a hell of a mess.

Room Tip: Avoid room 19 in order to be spared the view and the noise of birds (or something) pattering on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed at Harry's hotel for one night only. First impressions were not good. Check in was simple even though we arrived really late. The bar staff checked us in. However the building is a conversion of several terraced buildings. This meant that the rooms are spread over a rabbit warren of corridors and stair cases. Not suitable for the old or infirm. We actually got lost trying to find our way back to reception. The room was Quite basic and looked a little worn. The double bed was a twin made up as a double. However there was everything you need. TV (only welsh free view) Tea, coffee even biscuits. The bathroom made up for the basic room. It was clean modern and well decorated. The breakfast was very nice. Large choice of cereals, fruit juices and a full English. Breakfast menu was very good with a vegetarian option. Have o mention Becky in the bistro, very helpful and bubbly character first thing in the morning. Slight confusion over our order was sorted in minutes. She even drew us a map of how to get to Borth. Over all a very pleasant stay. I would stay again. Tip though don't try the rear car park if you have a large vehicle or car. It's very tight. Plenty of parking out front but with 1 hour limit 8am-6pm.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front on the first floor looked really nice when we walked passed them being cleane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year whilst visiting friends ... The room was small and had a damp smell to it, it seemed like it had had it's time maybe 10-15 years ago... Very noisy from the Main Street outside and the bar downstairs was like a club 18-30's holiday type experience not what we had in mind at all... I would never stay here again.. Didn't try the food as was concerned it was as bad as the rest of the place... Don't be fooled by the nice pictures on the web sites...find somewhere else next time we certainly will... !!!! Don't stay here !!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harry's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Hotel

Address: 40-46 North Parade, Aberystwyth SY23 2NF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harry’s Hotel Aberystwyth offers excellent accommodation and is located in the heart of town. As well as Hotel rooms, Harry's offers undoubtedly Aberystwyth's most luxurious and stylish bar, making it the perfect place for socialising with friends. Harry’s offers a comfortable and personal experience in a warm and friendly environment. A seductive Beer Garden, where you can enjoy the summer sun, which will give you a feel of absolute bliss not matter what the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harry's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrys Hotel Aberystwyth
Harry's Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.