We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel badly let down by breakfast service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Conrah Hotel

Save Saved
You added Conrah Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conrah Hotel
Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Aberystwyth
swelch5590
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel badly let down by breakfast service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location and very convenient for Aberystwyth and the west coast. The buildings are traditional smal country house style well maintained and comfortable room with adequate facilities. Shower valve requires an overhaul/service in room 1 but that is a minor issue.
I was approached at the breakfast table by the waitress while my wife was at the buffet and asked if we were ready to order. I suggested that she should return when my wife was at the table, but she did not return, despite a reminder to a passing member of staff, for about 30 minutes, meanwhile taking orders from others in the dining room who had arrived later. We were of course left without tea and toast for that period

Room Tip: Ask for and pay for the view if you want it - it is a charming location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Swelch5590,

Many thanks for the recent review, Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of service at breakfast time. I can assure you this is not the norm and it prompted a training review and session for all staff. I am pleased you had a wonderful stay other than this and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    88
    35
    8
    7
See reviews for
42
116
14
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here in August for two nights. Our room was on the top floor, was very spacious and had a stunning view over the Ystwyth valley.Our friends had a room in the stable block and were also favourably impressed. We couldn't fault the hotel in terms of accommodation, service or food. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Ann L,

It is with great pleasure I have read your wonderful review of the Conrah. I cannot wait to see you all back with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

You must go and have afternoon tea here, excellent value for money, soft well made cakes and fresh homemade jam! I live in the area and will returning again very soon!I went with a group of friends and we were all so happy with thr service, quality and excellent value for money at 10 pounds a head!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
annaandrobwales many thanks for the wonderful review. It is so pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. I hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location, but the hotel needs renovating. Some of the rooms are pleasant and recently renovated whist some of the rooms are straight from the 1970s. The corridor halls have pealing wall paper. It looks very dated and needs some money well spent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Coedana74,

Many thanks for the review, I am pleased that you have seen the renovated rooms and had a wonderful experience in them. The first floor is earmarked for renovation early 2014 as we realise these problems but have to wait until the quiet times so as not to inconvenience our customers.
I look forward to welcoming you to the Conrah again soon where you will see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed in this lovely hotel with friends at the end of July. Although our room was not in the main hotel it was well appointed with lovely views over the garden and the valley beyond. We have travelled widely and come from Australia each year to visit friends and relatives and without doubt the food at this hotel was the best we have had for a very long time. I must congratulate the young chef and his team for producing such lovely food at breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. Well done and we will definitely be back at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Room 17 was light and had great views
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Many thanks GrannySandra,

I have passed your comments on to our chef which has made his day. We look forward to welcoming you back to Conrah next Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anglesey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

booked online, and then changed due to date change. Had top floor room. I was not happy with that room and we were moved to another top floor room, not keen on the rooms on this floor and have always stayed in the rooms on the 1st floor. Much nicer rooms . No problem with us wanting to move. The room was hot and was only able to open one window as the other was painted closed. The room was a good size.
Dinner was good with plenty of food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Many thanks Janine2,

I was pleased to read your review and genuinely am grateful that you have mentioned these points as without this knowledge we cannot improve our facilities and customer experience. Whilst the maintenance issues have since been sorted we have a program of upgrade which is constantly happening.

I look forward to seeing you again very soon (first floor room noted)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent a fantastic break at a simply stunning hotel. The setting is fantastic with fabulous views down a valley towards Aberystwyth.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
The food was very tasty and made all the more enjoyable by the views through the large windows in the restaurant.
Parking was very easy and fabulous grounds to enjoy the lovely weather.
The only down point was the attitude of the cleaning staff who didn't service the rooms, but this didn't detract from a lovely and relaxing break.

Room Tip: Rooms 6&7 were extremely large with very spacious bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
NickP001 many thanks for your kind words,

I am very happy at your experience at the Conrah and would like to assure you that the attitude of the cleaning staff is one that has been dealt with internally and is something that will not be tolerated. I hope to see you back at Conrah, Aberystwyth very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Aberystwyth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrah Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.