We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and wonderfully accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Richmond Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hotel
The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Comfortable and wonderfully accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Richmond Hotel for 3 nights (my boyfriend was there for work and I came along just for the holiday) and both we and work colleagues agreed that it was a lovely experience. The hotel was wonderfully clean and well maintained, and the oceanfront view from our room was stunning. All of the staff were friendly and I was especially impressed by their willingness to accommodate my very strict candida diet - before we arrived I gave them a long list of foods I am not able to eat, along with a few meal ideas, and they totally made it happen! I had been worried about going hungry, but they made sure that I was well taken care of and I am so grateful. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    104
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
40
111
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We only stayed at this hotel for one night as a stopover on our way to Pembrokeshire and after reading the fantastic reviews on Trip-advisor we had no hesitation in booking. We were not disappointed. We received a warm welcome on arrival, our room was spotlessly clean with a great sea view. The breakfast was one of the best we have tasted. We did find a parking space at the rear of the hotel although parking spaces were quite tight. The only slight niggle was that there was no shower curtain over the bath which made showering a little tricky in order not to soak the bathroom floor and surrounding area, however overall this did not spoil our stay and we would defiantly come back to the Richmond Hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 27 which is a family room with a great sea view. Very large spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have very recently stayed at the Richmond Hotel. It is located directly opposite the beach with excellent views. It was extremely clean and very comfortably appointed. the staff were all extremely helpful and went above and beyond our expectations ( particularly Menna who is a little treasure!). The food was excellent particularly as I have Coeliac Disease and I am also allergic to fish. Every member of staff was aware without prompting and all meals were excellent. Gluten free sausage and bread were provided at breakfast We will definitely return.

Gill E.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Loved staying at the Richmond Hotel with it being right on the beach in Aberystwyth. There is nothing between you and the water. Hotel is just across the street from the beach. Our room (#8) had an incredible view of ocean and down the promenade to the pier.

It was a beautiful day with nice sunset. The starlings also put on a great show in the evening before roosting under the pier.

We ate in restaurant and the food/service were great. Nice selection of choices and very tasty. The breakfast was also delicious - cooked to order.

Menna at reception was very helpful with places to go and see and how to see the best sights in city on walking tour. She also showed us some videos of the recent big storm in the area.

This hotel weathered the storm without any problems. It is probably the safest place to stay on the Promenade.

I can't wait to go back and stay longer. Aberystwyth is a beautiful town and I would like to see more of it.

The only issue was the curtains in the room didn't block out all the light from the street but this was not a major problem as I had a great nights sleep.

I really recommend this hotel for great service and location.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view for incredible view of ocean and promenade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have recently come back from a stay in the Richmond on a business trip and I would definitely go back. Menna the receptionist was incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient. The rooms and the building in general is immaculately clean. We had packed lunches made for us as we were out too early to eat breakfast, Richard the owner and chef also allowed us to eat breakfast on our second day by starting service early and attending to us himself. The food was absolutely gorgeous btw. Glenda and Alison were an absolute joy and pleasure to have a chinwag with and genuinely loved their place of work. The amenities in the room were also fantastic as well as the sea view!! Warm, genuine, lively place to stay! Thank you

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I made the Richmond my home base for 10 days hiking the coast path. Great folks, great food, and warm hospitality. This was my second year hiking in Wales but my first trip to Aberystwyth - but not my last! It was worth the trip from the USA. Cheers

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Another trip to Aberystwyth to see my daughter at the university for a few days and we thought we would treat ourselves to a hotel close to her sea-front accommodation.

We picked the Richmond Hotel using the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.

The whole hotel was spotlessly clean and warm and the sea view across the promenade was idyllic. Breakfast was excellent and even better were the hotel's staff - friendly and helpful.

Superb and we will be back at the end of May.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.