We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly venue with brilliant breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Richmond Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hotel
The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly venue with brilliant breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Really nice place with lovely friendly staff. Very clean and warm welcome on arrival. Some aspects of room decoration slightly dated but comfortable beds and a very restful stay. Breakfast was served by in a very timely manner and everything was really well presented.

Also as a gay couple we're aware that some places can be a bit funny with us. Either a bit unwelcoming or over the top on showing how accepting they are. Not at all the case here. Top marks for just being normal towards us! Will stay again when we come back in summer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    90
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
95
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spent one night here on a brief visit to the area. From the telephone call making the booking we already had a favourable impression of the friendly nature of the hotel. The location is excellent - on the promenade in Aberystwyth with the beach across the road and a private car park behind.
All the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Our room was in the front of the hotel and we could sit in the window and watch the waves pounding the beach. The room was very clean and comfortable and we both slept well.
There was a good choice of food which was tasty, well presented and very good value for money. We will definitely stay here again when we visit the area later in the year as it is a lovely old fashioned family run hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is not for those who like chic accommodation or trendy decor. But it's warm, friendly and comfortable.
It also has some great rooms with sea views. I stayed in one and could hear the waves as I went to sleep.

It comes across as a small family run hotel which offers good value.

Room Tip: A room with a sea-view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Clean, modernised old seafront hotel. Our room had a panoramic view of the sea. Very quiet, the only sound was the lapping of the waves on the beach. Linen tablecloths at breakfast. Cheerful, patient waitresses. Seconds on cooked items if you wanted more. Unfortunately the restaurant was not open in the evenings this time of year, so we had evening meals at the nearby Marine Hotel.

Room Tip: Old style hotel, stairs everywhere, so elderly/disabled be forewarned
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stay over the weekend to visit our Nephew who is at the University. The hotel is very warm and welcoming with just a hint of a bygone age. A real gem. The room was lovely and warm with a fabulous view of the sea across the road. The bathroom was modern and very good. Bed was comfotable with very good quality linen.

All in all a great place which we most certainly will return too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Richmond as a couple visiting my Partner's son who is studying at the Uni and were pleasantly surprised with this little gem.
Ideally located we had a comfortable room with a sea view and found the staff friendly and helpful.
Looks like we'll be back a few times during the next 3 years!
Breakfast was great - wide choice and plenty of it.
Recommended

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stay at the Richmond regularly on business and can thoroughly recommend. The staff are so helpful and the rooms are always clean and airy. Breakfast is great and feels just like a home from home. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Aber then this is it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are great on a summers night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aberystwyth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.