We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling. Not a hotel just expensive rooms above pub drunks till 3am” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel

Castle Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Hotel
South Road, Aberystwyth SY23 1JW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Appalling. Not a hotel just expensive rooms above pub drunks till 3am”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Do not stay here. It is dreadful. I stayed whilst visiting my son who had started at the university, for a Friday night.It is not a hotel, but rooms ( at London rates) above a hotel which at the weekend serves until 3am followed by another noisy hour leaving. On the night I did not sleep at all..the noise of the bar horrendous, then at 4am a fight started outside with a man calling a woman a F Cu, xx and violence, followed by a woman crying on outside my room. Staff tried to comfort her.At some tike after 5am breakfast started to be delivered...only it isn't really breakfast, they don't cook here ( it's not a hotel) they deliver cereals to the room, and you make your own instant coffee with the kettle already there. The webiste is a pack of lies designed to deceive... breakfast in bed, a luxury... I didn;t order ( not worth the extra money) but the sound of trays being delivered was unbelievable.
The following morning many guests ( none had slept because of the noise and fight) discussed the appalling fight and the place, unable to believe they were paying £80 to stay.
I complained and asked for a refund. I have spoken to the owner, manager, have sent in a detailed complaint as requested by the manager, and asked that it be acknowledged. They didn't have the courtesy to reply to my email or return my calls.
The establishment certainly does not provide a hotel service.I have reported the establishment and the incident to the police, and am now taking my complaint further.The one thing that is correct on the website is that the rooms are nice. I don't know at what time they stop serving alcohol during the week.The owner doesn't trouble herself to answer my email and seems unbothered that she breaks all kinds of trading and advertising standards. That's probably because so far she has got away with it. Avoid this place like the plague.

Room Tip: Avoid The Castle....get a room anywhere in the town but here. And if you can't get anywhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    9
    7
    14
See reviews for
7
31
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Room was immaculate, well furnished and comfortable. Stayed on the second floor which was very quiet. Had our own bath robes included. Bathroom was gorgeous with a great shower! Staff were very helpful and let us check in early. Entire hotel was spotless and well kept.
Breakfast was included and was a great choice of continental food. Brought to our room at a time of our choosing.

Great value for money..would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I love this place, I choose to stay here for business whenever in Aberystwyth.

The rooms are marvellous, and very well appointed. The staff are superb.

Yes, it's a hotel situated above a very popular pub, and may not be up some peoples street. Once you check in, there is a separate entrance you can use with your rom key so you can come and go without having to go through the bar area.

You get a little sheet to fill out the night before saying what you want for breakfast - being not a lover of cooked breakfast, this suits me down to the ground. A selection of cereal and freshly made toast is served to your room at your specified time, with the happiest "Morning, Breakfast!" I've ever heard! Stick the kettle on, make a coffee, open the sash windows and have a very enjoyable breakfast in bed listening to the gulls outside.

Dressing gowns are hanging in the wardrobe for when you get out of the lush double shower.
The complimentary Waffles are lovely if warmed on your coffee cup for a few minutes. Also the Hot Chocolate is wonderful.

Noise: many reviewers mention the noise. Yes, it can be noisy - very noisy outside (especially freshers week!!), but every time I've stayed (apart from once), I've been on the second floor - there is a secondary glazing on the windows, so as long as both are closed, then the noise is kept out. I've never hear the music form the bar.

I look forward to my next visit. Diolch.

One minor suggestion: the shower gel, shampoo and conditioner bottles need renewing, as the writing had worn off mine, so I started showering with hair conditioner! But that's just being very picky!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are not affected by bar noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Clean well appointed room above a very noisy bar with juke box which denied sleep until the early hours on a Monday night in September.
Card filled in for an early cold breakfast to be served in the room, there is no hot alternative. Thankfully tea and coffee making kit was in the room otherwise it would have been truly unacceptable, see below.
The staff obviously had not recovered from the uproarious night before in the bar below as no breakfast arrived at all, no explanation, apology or refund offered. At £80 for the night, an utter disgrace.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Derby
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Have stayed a few times in various rooms. Last there for University graduation week. Never had a problem with noise, perhaps because I've been there at the start and end of term! Parking has always been easy, usually on the street outside. There is also unlimited free parking on the prom, or as a last resort cheap 24 hr parking by the harbour a few minutes away. Rooms have always been very clean and comfortable, and the light breakfast brought to the rooms is a bonus not a problem. Seeing dolphins from the promenade at the end of of the road made my last stay all the more pleasurable.

Room Tip: top floor rooms-the sea view room is the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Really nice bedrooms but located above a downmarket and noisy studenty pub. Very expensive too!!! Too many negatives to mention.
Cost us £100 per night to stay above a noisy pub, which like other comment,s doesnt seem to close until 3 am and the noise is terrible! And I mean really terrible. Would never stay again and would never recommend to anyone either. Not sure who they are marketing to as the rooms dont match the pub below? Only positive was the friendly and helpful young girl behind the bar who acts as bar maid and receptionist. Also, breakfast costs a fiver and consists of cereal, fruit and toast in your bedroom... No cooked food available. No where to park. The view is terrible and bedrooms look out onto drab student accommodation. No seperate hotel entrance and you have to enter the bar area to book into your room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here two weeks ago at the end of a walking holiday in Wales. The rooms were really nice, as shown on the website. Breakfast was also ok with nice quality food seved in our room.
Unfortunately this is where the positives ended.
We were unceremoniously woken around midnight when the music from the pub downstairs suddenly cranked up and the noise was terrible. I phoned downstairs to be told the pub shut at 1.15 but they would turn the juke box down. I rang a total of 4 times to be told 'someone had turned the jukebox up' and other excuses and then informed the bar shut at 3.00am! At 3 the music went off and after hearing people leaving it went quiet at 3.15am. Not the relaxing night we were expecting, especially with a long drive in front of us. I had to pass my complaint onto the house keeper in the morning as there were no staff on the premises and bar locked up! After waiting 3 days for a phone call I was promised (and payment taken from my account!) I had to email my complaint on 28th May. After nothing I emailed again on 3rd June informing the owner I would be reviewing her hotel on Trip Advisor. A reply at last! An apology for late reply but not for the poor treatment we received. Then to top it all she tried to blame it on a neighbouring house party!!! Amazing how the music got louder when the bar girl answered the phone and apologised about the juke box twice, and miraculous the 'party' finished at the exact time the bar shut! Also, since seen numerous entries on TA regarding the noise so they must have exam parties weekly around there. You couldn't make it up. My advice... lovely rooms, but if your idea of a good nights sleep is in the middle of a disco DO NOT STAY HERE! We will not be taking up her offer of a free room upgrade as we live 300 miles away. Not much chance of an apology or compensation now, but at least you have been warned.

Room Tip: Choose a quiter hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: South Road, Aberystwyth SY23 1JW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sympathetically restored Edwardian hotel originally designed in the style of the traditional ‘London Gin Palace,’ situated in the old town of Aberystwyth, just a stone's throw from the castle grounds.You can look forward to a warm Welsh welcome. This newly restored hotel has a contemporary luxurious feel, just yards from the beach, harbour and marina. All rooms are en-suite and furnished to a lavish standard with hand made furniture and the indulgence of Egyptian cotton linen.Why not sit back and relax with a glass of champagne and enjoy excellent views of the sunsets over Cardigan Bay? Or you can enjoy a drink in our friendly local bar before retiring to your luxury suite and slipping into crisp Egyptian cotton sheets. And if all this isn't enough, to complete your treat, breakfast will be served to you in bed the following morning.We strive to provide local, ethically sourced products wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.