We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca

Casablanca
Eastgate, Aberystwyth, Wales
01970 617024
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 127 restaurants in Aberystwyth
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Le Casablanca has great, homemade fresh mediterranean cuisine which has never disappointed us in the years we have had meals there. We have have lovely, tasty, and unfussy North African couscous there, as well as Tagines, lovely vegetarian meals as well. You can bring your own wine, so this also makes the evening quite reasonably priced. Jo, the owner and chef, is always attentive to details and makes sure you are happy and having a good time. This personal touch adds to the homely, relaxed atmosphere which has made us go back again and again over the years.You'll eat very well, you'll be welcome, and you will feel that you've had a relaxing time with friendly people around you! Highly recommended.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Reserved a place for a party, but had to re-arrange and went for a romantic meal instead. Turned out it was only us eating there that night and the restaurant was open just for us! Felt like a prince!! Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Embodies all that is best about Aberystwyth - unique, local, friendly and just good! You will not find a comparable place to eat anywhere in the UK.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    235
    47
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have been to Casablanca a few times with family and fiends and have always had tasty food with a friendly service. The restaurant is small, cosy and comfortable but yet big enough for those personal family parties. I like the idea of taking your own alcoholic drinks. I will be happy to go to Casablanca anytime. And will be happy to recommend the restaurant to any one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great menu and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Recently visited here on a trip to Aberystwyth and cannot wait to return. The food was cooked perfectly and wasn't expensive. All of the staff were attentive and friendly and very well presented.
Our meals were all well cooked and to our specifications, which we were very grateful for.
The restaurant itself is very well-decorated and cosy and makes you feel very much at home.
Will definitely be visiting again should I return to Abersywtyth - plus learning that you can take your own alcohol is definitely a bonus! Thank you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Enjoyed a nice supper ... the lamb dish was a bit thinly cut, but the lamb tagine was superb (very tasty). You need to bring your own alcohol - which I think is a bonus!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The only place to eat in Aber.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We have been, to this place many times. Never lets us down. We have been to serval different restaurants in Aber. Both the cheap and expensive. But none match Casablanca, the food is brilliant, a nice taste of northern Africa. The staff are great. I can not recommend this place more. Plus you can take your own booze. As thrifty students, we save our money instead of spending it on spoons and go here. Top class.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review.
Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.