We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrington House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worcester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barrington House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Barrington House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
204 Henwick Road | Barrington House, 204 Henwick Road, Worcester WR2 5PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Worcester B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel isn't much to look at from the outside, but inside is a different story. The entrance hall was immaculate and very welcoming and the bedroom was enormous, spotlessly clean with an ensuite as big as my bedroom at home(!), and a separate toilet. The view from the bedroom was picturesque as the hotel is perched up on a hill overlooking a bend in the river and Worcester race course. The bed was very comfortable and the room was fully equipped with television, tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries.
The owner was very friendly and welcoming upon my arrival, and also incredibly helpful in suggesting a very well-directed running route for me! The hotel is a short 15 min walk down the hill into town.
Breakfast was delicious (a mountain of freshly made scrambled eggs with toast and salmon, plus a plate of fruit).
Couldn't recommend this place more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
153
17
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Victoria is the most wonderful host with such an exceptional sense of style. The standard of the accommodation is more 5* grand hotel than a B&B on the outskirts of Worcester! And yet, the welcome and ease of conversation really does make you feel at home, if only my place had half the elegance that Barrington House has! The fruit platter at breakfast is sumptuous, delicious and beautifully presented but don't worry Victoria, I won't give away your 'secret' ingredient!! ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at Barrington House and feel compelled to write a review. We would normally look to stay in a hotel but due to proximity, decided on B&B at Barrington House. The experience from booking with Victoria through to leaving after our stay was faultless and has opened our eyes to the world of (high calibre) B&B. Our room was beautiful, spotlessly clean and had the most stunning views of the river and it's swans. Victoria was welcoming and knew just how much attention to give. Breakfast was a delight and we were truly sad to leave! We would not think twice about returning and can wholeheartedly reccomend

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night and wished we were staying longer. We will have to go back. The room we had (Duck Egg Blue) was beautifully decorated, large, with an ENORMOUS en suite, and very comfortable. Thought had gone into every detail and it was a very restful place to be. Victoria and her husband have renovated and decorated it all themselves and you must look at the photos to get an even greater appreciation for it now. The breakfast was also delicious. Although this is a little out of the centre of town it is worth driving if you have to to get to where you want to be.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. Our room was very spacious, the king-size bed supremely comfortable. Large bathroom with separate toilet. A nice perk was the mini-fridge with fresh milk and bottles of water. If you say you would like fruit for breakfast, a lovely fruit plate with a little pot of yogurt comes each morning. If you have the full breakfast you may have difficulty moving afterward. I decided to stick with the toast, which is made from some wonderful seeded bread. We had travelled to Worcester by train and used the bus to travel around. The bus stop just down the street came in very handy. The only slight disappointment we had was with the view of the river from our window. It was partially blocked by scaffolding as Mike was doing some painting.

In the room there is a folder in which Victoria details their trials and tribulations in bringing the building up to the beautiful house it is today. She said their first purchase was a sledgehammer and crowbar. They did all the work themselves, apart from the things requiring professionals, such as the electrics. A truly incredible feat. Our room (Gold Room) was decorated to a very high standard.

We liked Worcester very much. There are many nice places to eat. Victoria has recommendations in her folder, but we can recommend the ones we tried. As I am fond of Mexican food, but seldom find it good in Britain I can say Amigo is an exception. One lunch we went to Thai Gallery and thought it so good, we went back a few days later for dinner. The lady in charge remembered us and even gave us the same table. The Cardinal's Hat is the oldest pub in Worcester and recently reopened. We spent time in the lovely little snug. Friendly place. We found Brindles Brasserie a friendly place with good food. We had intended to try Brown's, but we stopped there one afternoon and sat at an outside table to have coffee/tea, but when my husband went inside to order he was told "we don't do black tea" and was rudely ignored after that. We crossed that off our list.

We would recommend visiting the National Trust Greyfriar's House and garden. It is right on Friar St, in the middle of town. And of course, the lovely cathedral.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Barrington House B&B in the Grey Room. Victoria is an excellent host with a lovely property. The large bedroom had door onto the patio area, good coffee and tea facilities with a fridge. The king size bed was very comfortable and a lovely bathroom with a really good shower.

The breakfast is excellent, fresh orange juice and fruit with a cooked breakfast on offer, we enjoyed the food. We would stay again just because of the food and bed.

The property is circa 20 mins walk along the river bank into Worcester. We walked in both nights and felt very safe.

I would recommend Barrington House to my parents and friends.

Room Tip: Book ther Grey room as you get access to the patio area over looking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed one night at this B&B in May
The furnishings and standard of decoration are excellent. The bedrooms are large and the en suite is lovely. Only snag is it's a hike from the bath to the loo.(LOL)

Beds are large and very comfortable .

Breakfast leaves nothing to be desired. Beautifully cooked preceded by a bowl of fresh fruit /cereal or porridge. Sets you up for the day.

Only down side is there is no on site parking so it's a bit of a scramble to get a space nearby

The Barrington is everything you could wish for and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barrington House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrington House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 204 Henwick Road | Barrington House, 204 Henwick Road, Worcester WR2 5PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrington House is a very beautiful four storey Georgian property in a walled garden on the banks of the River Severn. We enjoy panoramic views, to our right the cathedral, straight ahead to the racecourse and fading to the left into green fields.I absolutely love living in this house and to wake every morning to see the swans and the odd barge chugging down the river is just so peaceful and tranquil. But please don’t take my word for it, come and experience it for yourself. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrington House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.