We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family afternoon out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Great Maize Maze

The Great Maize Maze
Upton, Worcester, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 attractions in Worcester
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a fantastic day for all ages set in a 10 acre maize field with the Malvern Hills as a fantastic backdrop. The Great Worcester Maze has lots to entertain for a full day out. Whether you choose to do a simple trail or be courageous and explore the large maze be sure to have a fantastic time, then play and relax in the adjoining courtyard with games such as; 'Goalie' Football, Rope Maze and many other giant garden games. Be sure to get plenty of perfect photo opportunities with the backdrop of the Malvern Hills and for the less bouncy and adventuresome get some refreshments and relax with the enjoyment of the fresh air and open space. To enjoy this countryside fun more than once this summer why not buy a season ticket to have no limit on the amount of times you visit! There is a picnic facility with food and refreshments available on site, gifts and merchandise are also available. Toilets and disabled toilets are available, with free parking on site. In the interest of safety and hygiene only guide dogs allowed.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good family afternoon out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Well organised, nice picnic area/ games area and the food wasn't bad. 2 mazes, 1 large and 1 small. Collect the clues as you go round. Prices were good even without the groupon voucher.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A-maizing day out !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Excellent value , staff very friendly.
Cheap day out , mini maze and full size maze collect the clues as you go round. Went with my son age 10 and his friend who enjoyed the outdoor games , tennis and football activies.
Nice picnic area and snack bar reasonably priced. Would defiantly recommend as a family day out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Maize maze”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited the maize maze on a groupon offer, but, like the previous reviewer, would have been happy to pay the full £18 for a family of 4. The maze offers good fresh air fun. The maze is definitely the main attraction, but there are a variety of traditional games in the grass area next to the maze where there is also a food and drink tent serving reasonably priced drinks and snacks.
Prepare for your trip to the maze as if you were going for a long walk. We were a bit underprepared as I think we were expecting it to be easy and quick...not the case!! We got well and truly lost for most of our time in the maze. There are 10 stamps to collect...we achieved 7 of these and kept finding ourselves back at stamps we had already gained!! Our children did better, achieving 9 of the stamps and finding the centre of the maze and the letters of the coded word. If we had been better prepared and had brought more drinks, we would have gone back in to the maze and finished the job, but we were tired and only had one drink each (and no money to buy drinks...duh!!!) so we gave up. However, we really enjoyed the experience and will definitely be back next year to beat this thing!!!! Young children may get upset at being "lost"...and factor in the fact that they will get tired in the big maze and you may not be able to get them out quickly as you will also be lost and tired!!! There is a small maze to have a go in before attempting the big one and several families today stuck with this one with young children. There is plenty of space in the picnic area for little ones to have a run around and play games, so lots for them, even if you don't go in the big maze. The staff were ALL superb, very friendly and supportive...big thanks to the young man on the bridge handing out ice pops in a bucket (complete with scissors to cut off the end to open them!!)...really welcome...helped us to get as far as we did!! Definitely recommend as an antidote to computer games and television in the summer holidays!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have always wanted to walk through a corn filed. This is our first visit and we will be back next year. The maze has a different theme each year, we spent a happy 4 hrs in the fresh air having good old fashioned family fun. The farm has made it more interesting as you have to collect stamps as you gp round and solve a clue which adds a competitive edge. There are a few outdoor games and picnic tables and you can purchase snacks and burgers although we took our own picnic this time. Staff were Very friendly indeed. We visited as part of a Groupon offer so was very good value but i would have been happy to pay the full price we enjoyed the day so much.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Maize Maze also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Great Maize Maze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great Maize Maze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Great Maize Maze to your Saves list