We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful carvery!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cob House

Cob House
Worcester Road | Wichenford, Worcester WR6 6YE, England
+44 1886 888517
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 21 Activities in Worcester
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Mayfly Cafe at Cob House Fisheries is a fantastic place to stop off on your travels or for the day with plenty for all the family. Set in 45 Acres with panoramic views from the cafe you can watch the kids play on the timber trail play area or the activity meadow. We have 5 Reindeer, 4 Alpacas, 2 Pigs, 7 Goats and feathered friends to visit for FREE! There are 9 fishing pools open for day ticket offering both match and pleasure fishing. Lots of walks, why not bring a kite to fly or a ball to play football out in the grounds? Car boots run the 1st and 3rd Saturday April to September and there are lots of other events that can be see on our website.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“awful carvery!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

this is one of the worst carverys i have ever had. absolutely everything tasted of salt and the plates are tiny. the carvery set up is stupid as well, you have to que for the carvery, then que again whilst your food is in your hands getting cold to pay for it. AWFUL.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobHouse, Owner at Cob House, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Cob House Fisheries.

We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your meal and that you have a couple of concerns, which we will endeavour to address for you:

Every customer is offered the choice of having a small or a large plate, onto which is served their choice of main dish from the Carvery. Customers are then able to serve themselves with the vegetables they wish to accompany their meal. We are more than happy for customers to pay for their meal ahead of making their selection from the Carvery.

The Catering Manager, or his deputy, are always available to listen to customer comments to ensure the customers best experience at Cob House. If for any reason a customer is unhappy with their meal we would like to know straight away; we welcome all comments which enable us to improve our service to ensure our customers full satisfaction with their experience here.

We hope we have addressed your concerns, once again thank you for your comments and hope that you will visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

What can I say, A1 food, friendly staff. Go and eat!! Ideal also for families as there are usually little events throughout the year.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobHouse, Owner at Cob House, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about Cob House on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife took our boys there along with the other children she childminds. Perfect place for an afternoon out

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobHouse, Owner at Cob House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor, we appreciate it very much and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cob House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Cob House Wichenford Worcester. its a Free attraction set in the rolling countryside about six miles from the city of Worcester, its main area is as a fisheries with several fishing lakes in a beautiful setting, the lakes are well stocked and fishing matches are held regularly throughout the year, they also hold training courses for junior anglers, there are several lakes for the recreational angler as well. all these are chargeable attractions. there is a well stocked tackle shop alongside the Mayfly Cafe which is large and airy with very good food at reasonable prices. Outside of fishing there are some very good country walks which are well posted and animals such as reindeer, alpacas ,pigs goats chickens ducks geese and swans. also they have a resident archer who will for a small fee give you a taster shoot, the archer is Mel Clarke, a wheelchair athlete who represented team GB at Beijing attaining a Bronze Medal and is currently at London 2012 shooting for Team GB at the Paralympics. They do not allow picnics or BBQs on site to support the Mayfly Cafe and to keep the entry and car parking free from charges. I would recommend a visit for a quiet day out, there is a play park for the youngsters and they have various themed trails for children to find clues on.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobHouse, Owner at Cob House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor, we appreciate it very much and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“FREE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Cob House is a farely new attraction and is FREE to enter. They have a lovely cafe that is reasonably priced & they do request that you use it & not bring your own food to enable them to keep it Free to enter. There are Alpacas, Reindeer, Goats, Pigs, Ducks & Hens & more. There are local walks, A big field for children to run about in, a small play area & often a free to enter themed picture quiz. They have fishing lakes (charge applies) & often have other activities such as Archery (charged). They do regular Car Boot sales to raise funds for local charities. A great place to spend a few hours in the countryside.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobHouse, Owner at Cob House, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor, we appreciate it very much and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cob House also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Cob House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cob House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.