We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worcester - Ideal for one night, but not longer...attending Christmas Fayre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Worcester Whitehouse Hotel to your Saves list
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Foregate St, Worcester WR1 1EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Reading, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worcester - Ideal for one night, but not longer...attending Christmas Fayre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel is opposite train Station & therefore really convenient. Room was available on arrival (11am) & receptionist really friendly (recommended great lunch restaurant which we went to twice). Room adequate although not spacious, for £130 per night thought it was a little expensive. Used the gym - small but again adequate - no-one to monitor the facilities. Staff were generally very friendly. Quite & spacious - exterior decor did not do this hotel any favours to be honest - interior far better. Thought there should be a few more facilities in the rooms - basic stuff like glasses? mugs? mini bar? missing, but hey ho, just for one night so was fine. Limited breakfast - didn't cater for gluten free at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. One of your comments confused me somewhat as the breakfast buffet has a varied selection of hot and cold items that are suitable for gluten free diets as we ensure that we cater for all requirements where practically possible. However I was pleased to read that on the whole you found the service and facilities to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    201
    104
    39
    20
See reviews for
60
190
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights, but in two different rooms. The first room had a problem with the lighting and very noisy pipes and I didn't sleep well at all. The second room was lots better and I slept so well. The rooms are gloomy in my opinion however, the staff are wonderful and can't do enough for you, which makes for a lovely stay. Have re-booked for another stay in December.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by moving rooms for your second night but I am delighted that you found the levels of customer care to a high standard and will certainly pass your compliments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back later in the month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing, though everything could be not blamed on the hotel. Arrived at 8.30 and pleasant and efficient check in.

Room was freezing and was unable to get radiator to work. This was followed by the neighbouring room deciding to start a restyling match. Food in the bar was of a good standard and not too over priced. Although been a Monday night the area was empty with the batman more interested in the football on the TV.

Returned to room in darkness with the light switches not following any known formula, could only have a light on in the room if the bathroom light was on at the same time.

Final straw was a mini riot at 3am with drunk end kids running up and down the corridors, a call to reception was unanswered so harsh language sorted it out.

Not a great stay and would probably avoid in the future, but maybe I was just unlucky.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations; unfortunately it would seem that your stay was mainly marred by some inconsiderate guests. It is most unfortunate and not a common occurrence so I do hope that you will give us the benefit of the doubt and stay with us should you come to the city on a future occasion. My apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have never been to Worcester before and were looking forward to staying at this 4 star hotel. The reception was efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well stocked. The pool was clean, warm and the leisure centre receptionist was very helpful.
However the hotel was let down by the below expectation evening meal. The chicken supreme with provencale sauce should of been described as a chicken breast with chopped tomatoes with a lot of dried basil. The strips of fillet steak in a brandy sauce should of been described as fray Bentos braising steak tipped on your plate. However the vegetables were fresh and cooked well. Apple crumble full of juicy sultanas with a pastry base was more like a strudel

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
My apologies that the evening meal did not meet with your expectations but having investigated when as per our protocol, every table was checked at the time of service no negative feedback was received. I think there must have been some confusion with the apple crumble as having read the menu the dessert was described as an apple crumble flan, hence the pastry base. I was pleased however to read that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay, finding the hotel's facitilies and service to a high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

My mother and I chose the Whitehouse Hotel for a weekend stay and could not have chosen better. Ideally located close to Foregate Railway Station, we had only a short walk before we could relax in our comfy and quiet room. The friendly staff made our two-night stay very agreeable. We ate in the hotel both nights and found the food better than many hotels. A slight quibble in the lack of shelf, ledge or table space in the bathroom. The hotel is a short stroll along the (mainly pedestrianised) main street from the Cathedral and thence to the Royal Worcester Porcelain Museum - both worth the trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and will certainly pass your compliments onto the team. As you say, we are ideally located near to the local train station and close to all this historic city has to offer. I have passed your comment regarding the lack of shelf space onto the Maintenance Engineer to investigate accordingly and hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a nice stay. The room was quite bog and faced the front of the hotel - there was a little road noise but nothing too much. We didn't eat here but did use the pool and gym and that was good. There are lots of local restaurants near by to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lovely slightly old fashioned hotel right in the centre of Worcester. The staff were friendly, the room was a good size with all the necessary bits, the shower was very good, the breakfast was excellent. I know some people have complained about the pool being out of order but the whole gym suite was functioning when we went, we didn't have time to sample it as we were only there for one night but we definitetly have it down for a preferred destination when we go back. Parking on site for a small extra charge is definitely a bonus too considering the traffic in Worcester!
The rooms and the Hotel in general can feel slightly hot but they do seem to cater more for a particular generation ( well they did when we were there) however you can adjust the heating in your room to suit. Our room faced onto the main road and because of the age of the building the windows are sealed but we adjusted the heating and suffered no real noise from the high street below even though we were there on a Saturday night. Very plesant and enjoyable we will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelMitchell, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit; I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and will certainly pass your comments and compliments onto the team. I look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 62 Foregate St, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.