We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea or an All you can eat buffet ??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Worcester Whitehouse Hotel to your Saves list
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Foregate St, Worcester WR1 1EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea or an All you can eat buffet ??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We visited this hotel myself my mom and sister for an afternoon tea experience which we purchased from groupon. We purchase lots of teas this way and I have to say this was one of the most disappointing we have been to. The advert was beautiful, cloth napkins, Cake stands, beautiful crockery ????? This was all no where to be seen. Instead we got stained tea pots, 3 trays of sandwiches which you helped yourself to along with everyone else with a bit if cling film strategically placed over it, rock hard scones with communal pots of jam and a once frozen Victoria sponge cake !!
Really really disappointed I certainly would not pay full price for this ! Even the price we did pay I felt was overpriced and that was £5 per person !!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy our Afternoon Tea. We take guest feedback extremely seriously and are always happy to take on board constructive comments which is why we moved to a buffet style service. Our service was originally as described however, due to guest feedback we actually changed it to a buffet style operation so that guests could help themselves. Unfortunately, by offering a service that has been requested by a vast number of people, it would appear that we cannot please everyone for which I apologise. With regards to your comments about the food I can assure you that our selection is freshly prepared on a daily basis and I am pleased to say that we have catered for over 600 guests on this offer and have received many compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    200
    104
    39
    20
See reviews for
60
188
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in room 101 on 28th September. Despite the ominous room number, everything was well apportioned with a good-sized bathroom and a complimentary bottle of wine. Tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits are provided and a range of toiletries. The staff were all helpful, especially a young Frenchwoman (Una?) at breakfast who managed to find me a teapot when they had all been used up. Breakfast was completely adequate and plentiful. The only downside from our perspective was the noise in the room during the night, both of the traffic type and from vibrations in the room caused by activity in other rooms. Not a great night's sleep but everything else was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time and will certainly pass your compliments onto Iva. I am sorry that you were disturbed by external noise, it is a slight downside of our excellent location right in the centre of this historial city. I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights , nice and quiet.loverly brasseri and breakfast.
i didnt use the spa as i was in on business and didn't realy have time but maybe on my next visit i will try it out.
the room itself was great and it was spottless clean had a great conversation with a blonde room attendant fantastic young lady, (michelle) i think her name was,couldnt of done enough for me and micheal in the restaurant was attentive too
i look forward to staying again definatly on 2nd floor, thank you to those two staff members who made my stay that extra bit special and an overall thankyou for a plesant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time and will certainly pass your compliments onto Michelle and Michael, who as a result of being mentioned each receive a box of chocolates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is good as 3+ starts but it is the best in Worcester. On the other hand, staff are very kind, nice and helpful. I would have a special thanks to Mr. Michael Lupino. He was very helpful and so friendly.

Room Tip: If you go to Worcester in summer, make sure that you get an Air Conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us and found the customer service levels high - I will certainly pass your compliments onto the team, specifically Michael. I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed in this hotel was attending a wedding in the area. Staff very good, breakfast lovely and room comfortable. The sausages were the nice I had in a hotel. The room got very warm and window did not fully open. Only really bad point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the wedding reception; we also offer wedding packages and are licenced for civil ceremonies. I have passed your compliments on to the team and hope to have the oportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I went with my sister for a groupon visit of use of spa facilities and afternoon tea. After the wait to be introduced to the spa the facilities were good and we enjoyed a relaxing time there for an hour or two. Tea was in the restaurant area and the Food services supervisor Michael Lupino was very attentive and helpful. The food was good and we had top ups of tea. A very pleasant experience but the hotel in general looked very quiet. Easy access from Worcester station, just over the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time and will certainly pass your compliments onto Michael. Afternoon tea is served daily from 2-5pm and is available to anyone not just Groupon guests, who wishes to relax and enjoy a traditional experience. I hope that now you have visited us, we can have the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hotel manager did there best to accomadations our travelling family of six in adjoining room.

It is what I expect from uk hotels, overpriced by European standards, not to mention us or aus but the best in the area with the stone manor up the road. Having lived in the uk in the 90's I had hoped it had moved on

Pool needs cleaning, scale, mould, broken tiles are not acceptable given they could be easi
Y remedied.

July 7-10th 2012

Room Tip: Only hotel option in central worcs, fowler down road poor option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager57, General Manager at Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. I note your comments about the pool and will ask the Maintenance Engineer to take the necessary corrective action. I hope that you had a safe onward trip and that we have the pleasure of your company next time you're in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Worcester Whitehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worcester Whitehouse Hotel

Address: 62 Foregate St, Worcester WR1 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Worcester Whitehouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Worcester Whitehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worcester Whitehouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.