We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is like the curate's egg - good in parts.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hundred House Hotel

Hundred House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Worcester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hundred House Hotel
Save
You added Hundred House Hotel to your Saves list
Worcester Road | Great Witley, Worcester WR6 6HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Worcester
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This hotel is like the curate's egg - good in parts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

The decor is very dated but the rooms are comfortable and clean; the plumbing is rather hit and miss, sometimes you get hot water, sometimes you don't. The views are wonderful and the road alongside isn't noisy. There's adequate parking, handy as the hotel is very convenient for Shelsley Walsh. The best thing about the hotel is the breakfast (we didn't need to eat other meals so can't comment on those) and the charming and efficient staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
5
12
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mid-Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Nice 'Olde Worlde' hotel but in dire need of refurbishment of the rooms.
I booked a 'Superior' room for my wife and me, and we had to carry our cases up two narrow flights of stairs to the top of the house. The room was cold, but soon warmed up once I had turned on the radiators. The carpet is very old and the bathroom shower is impossible to use, unless you kneel in the bath and hold the shower rose above yourself. Certainly not four star!
The meal on the first evening was very good, but was spoilt somewhat when we were seated at a table in the bar which was very noisy with local farmers drinking there, and not what I expected.
For the second evening I asked for a table in the restaurent, and this was much more suitable, and the food was excellent.
As I had reserved meals for both evenings when I booked, I would have thought the restaurent would have been offered for both evenings, especially as the menu was of a higher price.
Overall, it was an enjoyable weekend despite the room, but I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — Meals
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

Classic example of the worst of British hotels.

In desperate need of radical refurbishment, this hotel is a throwback to hotels of the early 80's.

Both the decor in the room and the hotel at large is teribble - threadbare carpets / dirty surfaces / peeling paintwork / old towels / Musty bad drain smell in corridors etc etc etc.

Bed was old & extremely small.

Tea / Coffee making facilities in room were frighteningly bad - dirty cups, sour milk, opened packet of biscuits...

Clearly very badly managed.

Aviod at all costs - you have been warned.

  • Liked — the front door when I left
  • Disliked — the front door when I arrived
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

I stayed in the Hundred House hotel back in 2007, I had a double room booked with breakfast.

I have to say that if this is a 4 star hotel I am a Dutchman. They have a great location but the room I stayed in was this strange type of annexe, the room felt like a throwback to the 1980's and was clearly in need of redecoration.

The staff were friendly enough, but the bar was a bit limited as well. For the money and star rating, this hotel is not up to scratch.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

The Hundred House Hotel offers a warm welcome although it is a little rough around the edges.

The room was clean and functional, but was pretty dated. On a positive note, there was a generours provision of refreshments.

Main problems I had with the hotel were:

The temperature of the room - oddly the heating didn't seem to work. With only sheets on the bed, and no spares in the wardrobe I ended up awake very early and shivering!

The shower - pressure was awful, and the merest touch of the hot water tap sent the temperature soaring from ice cold to scalding hot!

Breakfast the following morning was great and almost made up for the hypothermia / 3rd degree burns. The full english was tasty, hot and plentiful. One of the best breakfasts I've had in a long time!

  • Liked — The full english breakfast and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Dated decor, terrible shower
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

Great experience at this hotel, beautyful countryside, highly recommended..

  • Liked — service, location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

We have had the excellent stay in a nice, friendly hotel this summer, thanks to the Trip Advisor.
I arrived very late at rainy night getting lost in unknown roads driving in Worcester, pitch dark. When I finally got there at nearly mid-night, a staff greeted us with a warm, welcoming smile; of course it was way passed the working hour.
Although this hotel is not the most expensive and luxury category, it had its own charm; nice welcoming staff, spacious clean room, wonderful piping hot breakfast (this was one of the best breakfast I had). I especially liked the full English breakfast here. I am definitely coming back just for this. Will recommend to anyone considering to stay in this area.

  • Liked — Breakfast and the Staff.
  • Disliked — A bit tired towels and the bathroom.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hundred House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hundred House Hotel

Address: Worcester Road | Great Witley, Worcester WR6 6HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hundred Hotel Worcester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hundred House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.