We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy, friendly and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Western Hotel

Great Western Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Great Western Hotel to your Saves list
Great Western Hotel
Shrub Hill Road, Worcester WR4 9EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“cosy, friendly and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at The Great Weston Hotel was delightful. We had such a friendly welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Worcester and will be coming there more often, staying in this hotel of course as it was friendly, warm and easy access to the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
20
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Date there 28 September one word disgusted jacket nicked ... Don't try this sleazy establishment.

I used this hotel for an important reception was disappointed with the food and jacket nicked when I was to,d it was safe in the office .. Clearly not!

Room Tip: Don't use this establishment trust me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good location, 10 mins walk into town centre. Good parking facilities and we were allowed to leave the car on the Sunday after we had checked out as we wanted to go back into Worcester for a few hours. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean and spacious room. Lovely bathroom with hot water when we needed it. Bed very comfy. Big TV on the wall. Breakfast was good, plenty of cereals and toast and a cooked breakfast freshly made to requirements. As previous comment stated this is not a 4* but excellent value for money, we would recommend to anyone and we will definately stay again when in Worcester.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Saw some of the previous "iffy" reviews this made us a bit wary, then looking closer realized they were from years ago , the hotel was easy to find, parking was simple, staff very helpful, rooms different sizes so bit of pot luck but all our 3 rooms were clean tidy, nice bathrooms and comfy beds. The hotel is an easy stroll from town. so close to lovely town pubs shops and plenty places to eat.
Would recommend to anyone, Its a good place to stay for the money, its not 4 star so don't expect that level for the money you are paying !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed a couple of times and apart from poor showers, frayed towels, no coat hangers in the shabby wardrobes, bar closing at 6pm, 15 to 20 minutes for hot water in the mornings, noisy roads at night, £7.50 for breakfast when it eventually arrived, only 4 channels on the TV in the rooms, creaky floorboards and lack of decent heating on the top floor, it would be nearly 2 stars. Always deal with Patricia as she is very efficient and friendly compared to the new manager. Last checking was at 7pm and no staff on the premises after that.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Spent a couple of wet days in Worcester but this hotel was a ray of sunshine. Trish (who apparently does everything from cleaning rooms, manning reception and bar and cooking/serving breakfast) was fanstastic and could not do enough for us. Our room was clean and well equipped, breakfast, excellent value and we were made to feel so welcome. Only a 10 min walk to town centre and probably the cheapest hotel in Worcester. Should you not want to walk back after a meal or drinks in the town a taxi is only £3.20. No problem parking in a free carpark with video surveillance. Well worth it!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Scarborough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

A really friendly lady greeted us, showed us to our room, served us in the bar later (and was really accommodating, letting our family use the facilities even though they were not staying) and also made us a fantastic full english the following morning - it turned out that she had been running it herself that week as her business partner was ill - she did a fantastic job. The room had recently been refurbished and was clean & tidy with a very comfy bed. The hotel, which is really easy to find, is a 10min walk from the city centre with a private car park. It has some beautiful features, wood paneling and very heavy solid wooden doors, the bar is a relaxing area with sofas. We will definitely stay there again if in the area - oh, and it's great value too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Shrub Hill Road, Worcester WR4 9EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.