We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Crown Passage, Worcester, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 252 Restaurants in Worcester
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This was a Wetherspoons pub in the city centre of Worcester. As such, I probably wouldn't have considered it for review were it not for two exceptional factors, the wonderful and very high level of service and the greta food.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went on a Sunday lunch it is a large place but rather on the dark side in there we quickly found a table and had the roast and chicken burger very quick to arrive but nothing special. The beef was quite fatty and the chicken burger was cold. Personally I would not recommend as there is plenty of places to eat in Worcester.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    1
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We cleared the table to have somewhere to sit down. Member of staff saw me place dirty plates etc on the bar, but offered no thanks.
Took a while to be served at the bar, even though it wasn't that busy.
The guy that served me was a bit 'curt'.
However, food arrived very quickly and was very tasty!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good old 'Spoons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent the day in Worcester with the kids, and a Wetherspoons is a safe place to eat. The Crown is a lovely venue, the menu is good and varied and there's a good selection of beers. As with most Wetherspoons, what's not to like?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

visited here on many occassions, the quality has always been good but unfortunately on this occassion wasnt.ordered a steak, came very over cooked, asked for a replacement which promptly came, i couldnt eat over half the steak as the steak knife couldnt cut through it.bringing this to the attention of the duty manager he agreed the quality had gone down of the meat and thanked us for bringing it to his attention then walked off.very unusual for this place as we have eaten here before and everything has been fine previously.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Would go there again when next in Worcester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Beer good, friendly and efficient service and a relaxed atmosphere when we went on a Monday night.

Lots of different areas to sit in, both downstairs and upstairs with quite a cosy feel.

We had already eaten elsewhere beforehand, so didn't get to sample their food this time.

Taxis just around the corner.

I wouldn't hesitate to visit The Crown again the next time we visit Worcester.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.