We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Worcester Cathedral

Worcester Cathedral
8 College Yard, Worcester WR1 2LA, England
+44 1905 732900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Royal Tombs, the first round Chapter House, Architecture through the ages, beautiful Norman Crypt. New: Telling the Story -Visit the Crypt Exhibition, explore our interactive touch screens, use our mobile App Trails. Find out about the Cathedral's Anglo-Saxon roots, special saints, glorious musical heritage - and much more. Sunday Eucharist 10.30Am, Daily Evensong/Evening Prayer 5.30Pm weekdays, 4pm Sundays. Free admission. Turn up for a Tour from May to end November Monday - Saturday 11am & 2.30Pm and November to end April Saturdays 11am & 2.30Pm. Tower open (weather permitting) Saturdays from April to end of October, school summer holidays and Bank Holidays.
Rednal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stunning old building on the edge of an otherwise non descript city shopping centre. My son was lucky enough to sing here with his school choir and thoroughly enjoyed the experience (even at the age of 10). We've also been as a family and a must do is to climb to the top of the bell tower. This is an additonal cost and not for the faint hearted - very narrow stair case and many steps (around 299 I think). Great views from the top. Friendly staff who entertained the children by asking them to find animals in the stained glass windows such as a pink giraffe!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    175
    24
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Choral Evensong very atmospheric !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Cathedral has so much History, with the elder brother of Henry VIII buried there, and whose early death led to so much change in Englands History and development. The Stewards are very helpful and knowledgeable. The Choir and Organ Music you must hear...very good to attend Choral Evensong....no matter what your Faith or Beliefs

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very scenic if you make the climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

if you can, take the opportunity to climb the bell tower. Wonderful views!!! You do have to get a photo pass for taking pics inside, but that's only fair. The place is a wonderful building with lots of English history. If you get the chance, stop by and have a look about.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Historic place of interest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I love this cathedral. I live in the city and visit frequently. It is steeped in history and is the burial place of King John and Edward the Balck Prince. It has a lovely gift shop and tea rooms and if you have the energy, you can climb the steps to the top of the tower from which you can survey three counties. Stunningly beautiful and If you can pick a time when the choir is singing, the accoustics are amazing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best cocoa in worcester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

teashop is brilliant - love the cakes, cocoa is great and I like friendly staff who carried my tray when I was unsteady on my feet, and the cake is fab. took some american guests there and they loved it

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Worcester Cathedral also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Worcester Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worcester Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.