We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diglis House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Diglis House Hotel to your Saves list
Diglis House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Severn St, Worcester WR1 2NF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Worcester
Leicestershire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed for the weekend in room 2 in the main building. The photos on the website made the hotel look a little old fashioned and perhaps the decor was a little old style but in a nice way. Lovely room and bathroom, friendly staff and a decent breakfast. There was a real fire in the fireplace on the Sunday night which was a nice treat.

Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, room 2 it is in the original house which is a listed building and is decorated in an older style. In fact every room in the hotel is individually decorated and we think adds to its charm. Our chef is proud of the breakfast selection and each cooked breakfast is individually prepared this does mean there is a short wait but there is plenty to occupy you with the superb view of the river. The new bar extension and the lounge are very welcoming and as you said the fire on a cold evening is nice treat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    81
    42
    30
    19
See reviews for
33
129
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Forget what else you may read on here, I simply cannot fault the Diglis...the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the room spotless with one of the splendid and comfortable beds I have ever slept in...and the bathroom really was something else! The hotel is pet friendly, but apart from the odd muddy springer in the lounge, there is nothing to suggest this...no smell or hair! Wi-fi is quick and free and the bar prices are more than competative...cheaper than a lot of pubs in the city.
Breakfast in the morning came with a choice and a superb view of the river. The food really was excellent. The hotel was busy, and I'm pleased. They deserve to do well.

Room Tip: We had room number 3, in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write this review, The management and staff have been working hard to make every guests stay an enjoyable experience. We have spent a lot of time and money upgrading the rooms in the house and we are pleased our investment is reaping results. Our situation on the river means that dog walkers hikers and cyclists make the hotel their drink stop and we like to make everyone welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

It is difficult to fault this hotel, hotel and rooms have character, the food is excellent, and above all, all the staff are fantastic, made us feel very welcome, a credit to all.
Great location for shopping or sightseeing, and very picturesque being by the river.
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, I just can't understand why this hotel is not number one in Worcester...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
As a frequent visitor to Worcester your comments were very much appreciated. With the best location in Worcester we aim to provide the best service. We will soon have completed our refurbishment of the bar and William Leader room and there will be more room for enjoying the bar menu and a more comfortable area to relax in next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brackley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

just got back from a weekend at the Diglis house hotel. We had a wonderful experiance, from the time we booked in until we checked out. We were greated in a very friendly professional manner and was taken to our room which was in the cottage. The room although a little dated was lovely. Bathroom was excellant and very modern and the bed was one of the most comfortable we had ever had in hotel. The food was excellant and as I have special diet requirements they went the extra mile to cook what I wanted and it wasn't too much trouble for them. The staff "Laura in particular were all so friendly and helpful. We will be back and in fact have made another booking!! The hotel is very central to the town and is situated on the river which was really nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for the review, we really appreciate your positive comments. As a small family owned hotel we try to make every guests stay memorable. We have passed on your comments to the staff and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here as a family a couple of times whilst visiting friends in Worcester. Really enjoyed our stays. On most recent visit we stayed in room 26 in the annexe which is perfect for us as it has a double bedroom, a twin bedroom and a separate lounge area with Juliette balcony overlooking the river. The kids entertained themselves playing hide & seek - yep, it was that large. All for £140 including full breakfast.

Great location, good character, lovely walk into town and friendly staff. I'd take this everyday over a modern box.

Note, there was no function on when we stayed so nice & relaxed too.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Lunch time meeting with old friends in very pleasant surroundings. The bar and meal area has been tastefully renovated since our last visit. Lunch in the conservatory was reasonably priced with a good choice.
The venue overlooking the river is excellent

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh Sinton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A group of eleven of us went to the Diglis Hotel to celebrate my mother's 86th birthday. I had booked for ten, but there was no problem about the extra person! When I booked I had to prepay in full, which I was surprised about, as the receptionist told me all the food was freshly prepared - I would have expected this to be the case at any hotel or restaurant. When booking I had asked that we could sit outside if the weather was good, as the conservatory was already booked for a private function and it would be a shame not to make the most of the river view The receptionist said this would be no problem and she would make a note of that in the diary. However, upon arrival we were shown to a room that was set up for dinner, apart from a large table in the centre laid up for afternoon tea. It was disappointing not to be outside as the sky was blue and the sun was shining, but I didn't want to make a fuss in front of my mother and spoil the surprise. It was a shame that the room had no view of the river and was somewhat dark.

Some of the party had already arrived and there were pots of tea and coffee on the table. I asked if I could have peppermint tea, and my daughter requested hot chocolate, which was not a problem. However, when my tea arrived it turned out to be lemon tea! The sandwiches were excellent - a choice of egg, salmon, ham and cheese on both white and brown bread, and were freshly prepared. The scones, however, even though we had been told they would be freshly prepared, were cold and appeared to have recently come out of a fridge and not the oven! The cream was whipped double cream and not clotted cream, but the jam was excellent. There was also a very nice fruit cake and a chocolate rocky road/tiffin cake.

To sum up, for the cost of £9.95, which included unlimited tea and the extra drink requests, it was very good value and the staff were attentive and pleasant. With a few tweaks it could be excellent. Would I go back? Yes, I probably would.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHHGeneralManager, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea and felt it was good value for money.The reason we set everything in the William Leader room and not the garden was it was an exceptionally busy day in the garden and as it was a private party we felt that the William Leader room was preferable. Everything about the afternoon tea is freshly prepared and we are sorry that the scones were cold and should not have been served in that condition but they were cooked in the morning and kept in the fridge.Double cream is always used in our afternoon teas unless clotted cream is specifically requested We do emphasize this aspect of the tea as many places use pre bought product for their teas. The reason we ask for pre-payment is that on several occasions teas have been booked and prepared and the guests have not turned up, this creates extra costs in wastage and staffing,We would prefer guests to tell us if their is something wrong it is not making a fuss, a quiet word with a member of staff could easily make the day more enjoyable and enable you to post a different review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diglis House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diglis House Hotel

Address: Severn St, Worcester WR1 2NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Diglis House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diglis House Hotel has the best location in Worcester it is on the Riverside yet has easy access on foot to shopping,tourist attractions and the riverside walkIt is a Grade II listed building. We have superb junior suites overlooking the river in the main house where all the rooms have been recently refurbished There is a new annex with many rooms having a river view. Food is available in the Conservatory Restaurant, bar or there is the option of eating in the gardens on warm days. The extended bar and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the Malvern hills for those special photographs. We have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. The only hotel in Worcester with complimentary parking and W-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Diglis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diglis Hotel Worcester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diglis House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.