We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanbury Hall

Hanbury Hall
Droitwich, Worcester WR9 7EA, England
44-1527-821214
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 76 things to do in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Good day out, lovely gardens, adequate tea rooms, excellent ice house in the grounds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    113
    26
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We were in Droitwich Spa for a friends birthday weekend, and decided to visit Hanbury Hall.

We were impressed with the house and gardens, but like some other reviewers, we found the 40 minute guided tour to be too factual, as it was biased towards the family that lived there, giving a lot of detail on their children, wifes and husbands etc, rather than more information on the house, After a while it was difficult to take it all in!.

The tea room is very nice, with a good selection of lovely cakes, and all in all we would recommend a visit to Hanbury Hall if you are in the area.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hanbury Hall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We visited in early November and all the upper floors were closed. The guided tour of the ground floor was a little to much like a history lesson of who had married who & then left them for who & what were the names of all their surviving offspring. Too tedious.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Wow for garden history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The house is stunning, but what made this visit memorable for us is that one of the volunteer gardeners (John) took us around the gardens. We learned so much about garden history, but not in 'lecture' way, just chatting and walking. There are more than 50 varieties of apple in the orchard for example. If you go, of course you will focus on the house, but DO allow enough time (say 90 minutes) for a garden tour, and if you get John, you'll come away with a smile on your face.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice for an afternoon walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We visited during the school holidays so the property was quite busy so we chose to walk the grounds only.
The grounds are pretty and well kept but personally it doesn't compare to most national trust places. The orchard is a lovely place to sit and relax and you can buy organic fruit and vegetables grown within the grounds.
The tea room is very small but offers a fair amount of ice creams, cakes and hot & cold drinks. With lots of outdoor seating with outdoor games for the children.
The children's play area is excellent which is why I think this property is so busy.
Overall I didn't feel the same atmosphere at this property as other national trust. The other visitors (except one) were rather unfriendly and rude. Maybe this was due to the stresses of the school holidays and kids under their feet, who knows?!
Overall I would choose another national trust next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanbury Hall also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Hanbury Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanbury Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.